Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I can't even count the amount of times I've made & thoroughly enjoyed this recipe! I only made changes out of necessity... The first time I made it, I did not have red wine vinegar, so I substituted it for white wine. (after trying with red, I do prefer white.) And I always do just a little bit more couscous as I don't want to waste the chicken broth from my can. So I do 2c chicken broth & about 1.5 c of couscous. Oh...and LOTS of cilantro, as my family loves it! thank you SO much Paula for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Republic, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I doubled the recipe for a block party. And I used Israeli couscous. I substituted bottled lime juice for fresh lime juice. I didn't need as much green onion as the ones I had purchased were very big. It was a hit! So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was allright. Without a doubt, I prefer Jodi T's corn and black bean salad MUCH better. Although I enjoy couscous, I felt it (and the 2 cans worth of black beans) overpowered everything else in this dish. Both absorbed the dressing to the point that I could not detect it at all. I like the concept, but serious tweaking is in order if I am ever going to make this again. An obvious (and necessary) change is to reduce the beans by HALF and DOUBLE the dressing. Additionally, I recommend eating this LUKEWARM. After refrigerating overnight, the couscous lost quite a bit of moisture and was crumbly as a result. :( Another thing to note is that this makes a TON (FYI, this would be perfect for a potluck). Served alongside chicken breasts marinated in Italian dressing, this made for a light yet filling summer meal. Thanks anyways, Paula. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Wow, wow, wow... This salad is delicious! It actually tastes even better two days later! It did feel a tad dry on day one, but seems like everything blended together quite nicely as it sat in the fridge. I will probably make more dressing next time, otherwise the recipe is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This amazing salad is as pretty to look at as it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Great recipe when made exactly as written. Do rinse the black beans, also I found that drained and rinsed canned corn is quite good if you don't have frozen on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is excellent. I wish I could give 6 stars. I have never had couscous in my life and was looking to try something new. If you love loads of flavor, you have to try this. So easy to throw together! I didn't have any red bell pepper, just orange, and the only corn I had was creamed corn...I know, I know...but it turned out GREAT! You would never know by looking at it that it is such a moist, flavorful salad. Great as a side, but I served it with a salad as the main dish and got rave reviews. My husband is a carnivore and didn't even notice that there was no meat on the table. He isn't into "girly" dishes like this, but he ate two helpings and said that this is the best thing I have made in recent memory. I'll be keeping this posted on the fridge and make it a summer staple. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! Will make it for a bbq this weekend. It's always fun to show up with something out of the ordinary AND yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
One word...amazing. Could eat this by the bucketful. Perfect as is. Wouldn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Looking for a Potluck recipe that looks great, tastes great, and can sit without refrigeration for a while. This is perfect. re rated to 5 stars because it is my go to potluck dish loved by many
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States