Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Even better when couscous is replaced with quinoa. But this version is very good. Also, added several additional veggies once base recipe was done -- chopped squash, jicama, grated carrots, etc. The next day added some fresh cilantro. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is an absolutely perfect salad. I followed the directions almost exactly, didn't have any cilantro and only had one 19 oz. can of black beans and it was still awesome. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good. I had to substitute white vinegar for lime juice because I was out, and also regular onion instead of green onions. I also used dried dill instead of cilantro because i had it on hand. I doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This has been my "go-to" salad this summer! Always a hit at potlucks. It's so colourful and versatile. I make it with quinoa sometimes instead of couscous and put in whatever veggies I have - zucchini, peppers, grated carrots and topped with halved cherry tomatoes. Like other reviewers I feel you need to double the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent! Doubled dressing as per other reviews. Fresh cilantro really makes this salad. I (as well as the rest of my family) am looking forward to eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Good salad, but it could have used a little more dressing. Not double the amount though like recommended in some other comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Bright flavor and beautiful presentation. I doubled the dressing and used a box of Far East parmesan couscous. I'm not sure if I overcooked the couscous or letting it sit over night caused the couscous to have a bit of a gummy texture. Also I only had one can of black beans so I used a can of ark red kidney beans for my second can. This was really good and a perfect summer salad to go with your grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Good. I think it could use a little more of the lime juice or vinegar. It was good, but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
As for others, this was a good starting point for me. Based on other reviews, I added a minced jalapeño and some cayenne to the dressing since I like a little kick! I also halved the recipe (its just me) but adjusted the bean and corn amounts to use up the leftovers I had on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Love this healthy salad & its great for summer lunches! Instead of couscous, I used bulgur and quinoa mix from Worlds Market. I've also tried using the israeli (pearl) couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States