Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Extremely tasty! Reminded me of Chipotle filling. Adding a little bit more cumin, lime juice, and vinegar definitely brings out the flavors. Also, minimal jalapeno is necessary, unless you want it to be extra spicy. Maybe a half of a pepper. Note to first-time Couscous makers: once all the chicken broth is absorbed by the grains, stir it all up and remove from heat. It can burn if you just let it sit on the stove for too long. Excellent recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Great just the way it's written. Will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made this recipe to get rid of some of the left over couscous I had in my fridge. I made it almost the exact same as is written, but I added a few other things that I had lying around: 1/4 of a cucumber, diced really small 2 TBSP minced almonds some whole pine nuts 1 orange, peeled and chopped into small cubes The orange in particular added a very nice extra kick of citrus. One thing I will say is that couscous is VERY absorbant. Even when it's fully cooked, it will continue to absorb liquid. So if you're making this ahead of time, I'd recommend keeping the salad components separate from the dressing and mixing them when you serve it. Yoou may also consider adding a little extra vinegar. I found the recipe as is to be a bit too light, so I added an extra 1 tsp of vinegar. The great thing about this recipe is that it is SO versatile! I'd imagine that can use pretty much any citrus juice (lemon, lime, orange, etc) for a new taste, or even add some cayenne pepper, trade the couscous for rice or quinoa, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this last night to compliment the Spicy Garlic Lime chicken from this site, as another reviewer suggested. All I can say is !! Every bite was mmm-mmm good. I left out the cilantro and added toasted pine nuts, sliced kalamata olives, and crumbled feta. I didn't like the olive oil-y flavor of the dressing so I kept adding a little more vinegar (balsamic and red wine) until it went away. Then I put in a teaspoon or so of dijon mustard to fill it out. Perfection! I will be making this again (and again). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made this as a side for a Moroccan chicken that I made a few nights ago for dinner and it turned out great! It was the perfect, filling, beautiful side dish to accompany the chicken. I pretty followed the recipe exactly other than exchanging minced white onion for the green onion, using dried cilantro, and rinsed, canned corn. It was really good and probably one of the best couscous recipes that I've made. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Yum-O!! Doubled the recipe and took it to a picnic this past weekend...it was literally gone in 5 minutes! Wonderful, easy, summery salad. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This couscous salad is absolutely delicious. I am a vegetarian so I substituted the chicken broth for vegetable stock and also used whole wheat couscous instead. I also cut out the olive oil all together and just increased the red wine vinegar and lemon juice instead. Love the cumin flavor - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is one of my go-to recipes for a sure-fire hit. I first made it for a Greek-themed meal with grilled lamb kabobs and tzatziki and Greek Salad....outstanding. I have also served this with grilled salmon and grilled chicken....the list goes on. I have found I like the addition of rice vinegar the best over the other kinds suggested. I also add quite a bit of reduced-fat feta cheese....it finishes it, to me. I have found that it tastes best when made early in the day and allowed to chill several hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I brought this to a cookout yesterday and everyone loved it. It is so easy to make, yet is so flavorful! My only changes (on suggestion of another reviewer) were to double the lime juice, vinegar & cumin; swap out the green onions for 1/8c red onion; add 1/2t ground coriander & 1/4t dried oregano. I used frozen shoepeg corn. This recipe was a winner as well as the Watermelon Salsa (from this site) that I also brought along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This a fantastic starting point recipe - I recently substituted Quinoa for couscous, and it was fantastic!! I always use the much healthier quinoa now. Like others, I AT LEAST double the dressing - and liberally use more vinegar and lime to boot. I like it with a little zip. I add whatever veggies I have on hand - all color peppers and cucumbers are GREAT in this dish. If no scallions on hand, diced red onion is a tasty alternative. Great dish for any cookout or potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 829) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States