Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was the first time I've ever eaten or cooked couscous. It was Delicious with a capital "D." To the recipe, I added chopped Roma tomatoes and feta cheese. Doubled up on that delightful dressing as others had advised. This recipe is a Golden Spoon award winning one which will now be a regular in my meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very easy and delicious! I used balsamic vinegar as it was all I had on hand and only one can of black beans (I think 2 cans would have been way too many). I rinsed the black beans well to avoid a "dirty" look in the finished dish, too. This was a great recipe and very versatile. It would be easy to substitute ingredients...maybe garden vegetables and feta next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made this yesterday for dinner. Really tasty and colorful. Easily adaptable. I didn't have any couscous so I used quinoa instead. I'm a vegetarian so I used water instead of chicken broth and substituted balsamic vinegar for red wine vinegar. Also used fresh-cooked corn instead of frozen. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used pearled couscous, they are slightly bigger, I think it's a better texture and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fritsche Berven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
It was a big hit with my family and friends !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious! Like other reviewers, I doubled the lime juice and vinegar. Instead of adding an extra half teaspoon of cumin to the dressing, I added it to the chicken broth before boiling. It gave the couscous great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
What a great salad! Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef larrybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Ridiculously good, and so simple! I used veggie broth and only used 1 can of black beans, but otherwise followed the directions precisely. It's totally vegan with the veggie broth, and everyone loved it! I sense this will become a staple side dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was a great refreshing couscous salad! I didn't have green onion, fresh cilantro, OR red pepper. So, I used red onion, dried cilantro, and a bit of green pepper. Absolutely delicious and addicting. Thanks for the recipe Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
My hubby made this for dinner tonight as a side dish for grilled vegetable fajitas. The only substitution he made was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken since we're vegetarian. We loved it! Light and delicious. It had a nice subtle flavor. Perfect for summer. Adding this to the recipe book! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 844) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States