Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is an absolutely perfect salad. I followed the directions almost exactly, didn't have any cilantro and only had one 19 oz. can of black beans and it was still awesome. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good. I had to substitute white vinegar for lime juice because I was out, and also regular onion instead of green onions. I also used dried dill instead of cilantro because i had it on hand. I doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This has been my "go-to" salad this summer! Always a hit at potlucks. It's so colourful and versatile. I make it with quinoa sometimes instead of couscous and put in whatever veggies I have - zucchini, peppers, grated carrots and topped with halved cherry tomatoes. Like other reviewers I feel you need to double the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent! Doubled dressing as per other reviews. Fresh cilantro really makes this salad. I (as well as the rest of my family) am looking forward to eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Good salad, but it could have used a little more dressing. Not double the amount though like recommended in some other comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Bright flavor and beautiful presentation. I doubled the dressing and used a box of Far East parmesan couscous. I'm not sure if I overcooked the couscous or letting it sit over night caused the couscous to have a bit of a gummy texture. Also I only had one can of black beans so I used a can of ark red kidney beans for my second can. This was really good and a perfect summer salad to go with your grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Good. I think it could use a little more of the lime juice or vinegar. It was good, but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
As for others, this was a good starting point for me. Based on other reviews, I added a minced jalapeño and some cayenne to the dressing since I like a little kick! I also halved the recipe (its just me) but adjusted the bean and corn amounts to use up the leftovers I had on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Love this healthy salad & its great for summer lunches! Instead of couscous, I used bulgur and quinoa mix from Worlds Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Liked it.Great side to the garlic lime chicken recipe. Very light dinner for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States