Black Bean and Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe looks beautiful, the texture is perfect and the blend of spices is incredibly on point. Oh, I forgot to add that it's cheap, too! I make this recipe all the time and keep it in my fridge for days as I slowly eat lunches and snacks from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Sarai
Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this last night. I doubled the dressings as many reviewers suggested. My husband said that it was absolutely fabulous.I took one reviewer's advice and rinsed the beans well. I didn't have green onion but chopped up about 1/4 small vidalia onion. I was also was out of frozen corn but substituted an 11 oz. can of vacuum packed niblet corn kernels. Also, the only cilantro that I had was freeze dried. It was still fabulous so I can only imagine how great it must be if you can follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was alright but I don't know if it is because I used whole wheat couscous or if it was something else, but I was not a fan of this recipe. It was ok, but my husband disliked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by melyissa
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
A friend was having a fajita cookout and said we could bring side dishes. I google suggestions and it had several suggestions for black bean sides. I double the oil, lime juice, red wine vinegar and cumin like the video suggested. I received several compliments on the dish, but best of all my family wants me to make it again! This will be a "go to" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Even better when couscous is replaced with quinoa. But this version is very good. Also, added several additional veggies once base recipe was done -- chopped squash, jicama, grated carrots, etc. The next day added some fresh cilantro. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is an absolutely perfect salad. I followed the directions almost exactly, didn't have any cilantro and only had one 19 oz. can of black beans and it was still awesome. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good. I had to substitute white vinegar for lime juice because I was out, and also regular onion instead of green onions. I also used dried dill instead of cilantro because i had it on hand. I doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This has been my "go-to" salad this summer! Always a hit at potlucks. It's so colourful and versatile. I make it with quinoa sometimes instead of couscous and put in whatever veggies I have - zucchini, peppers, grated carrots and topped with halved cherry tomatoes. Like other reviewers I feel you need to double the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent! Doubled dressing as per other reviews. Fresh cilantro really makes this salad. I (as well as the rest of my family) am looking forward to eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Good salad, but it could have used a little more dressing. Not double the amount though like recommended in some other comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States