Black Bean and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Excellent salsa! Makes a ton, so watch out. I used fresh corn on the cob, lightly grilled, and de-cobbed. Loved the vinegar twang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Huge crowd pleaser!!! My suggestion: ADD AVOCADO CHUNKS BEFORE SERVING :)) My family and my husbands family requests this EVERY time we get together. Since finding this recipe in 2012 - I've made this countless times to the point I know it by heart. Sometimes I find the olive oil drowns the spices and vinegars. I keep the olive oil amount but double the vinegars/spices/garlic. I use a lot of cilantro and add a few dashes of Sriracha hot sauce. This makes a lot of salad but its very versatile. It can be added to your tacos, chicken, salad - even to your pasta sauce. It keeps long and it tastes fabulous !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I halved the recipe, since there is only 2 of us. I didn't have a green or yellow bell pepper so I just used my orange one. I also doubled the cilantro. Didn't have garlic so I used garlic powder(proportionally), I want to use real garlic next time. I gave it a 4 and will make it again, my 23yr old gives it 5 stars, she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made this for a party at work and everyone loved it. It made a big batch so we had some leftover for the next day and it was even better! Definitely a keeper. I did cut back on the oil as suggested and used only about 1/4 cup olive oil and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Fantastic! I could eat the whole thing by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Recipe is great as is! For me, decreasing the Olive Oil would only need to be done if you are making a smaller batch. I did not see any other type of oil to be added as one reviewer mentioned and I imagine a good olive oil is key to this recipe. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Wooo! That's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Perfect base ingredients, but after I made it, I felt that it was missing a flavor burst, so I added a small packet of Goya seasoning mix (orange packet) and that did it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Tesch-Loran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
i quartered this recipe and it made a LOT. i used 2 ears of fresh grilled corn (leftover) instead of frozen, and added two fresh tomatoes that i lightly smashed in the food processor, which made it moister so i could skip the oil. this is not a great "salsa" but it is a GREAT filler for quesadillas or juevos rancheros, so its a keeper for me. and my 19 month old loves to eat it straight (he's a bean eater).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Love this recipe because it is healthy, tasty, and so versatile! You can basically add whatever you like...I added a can of drained Rotel diced tomatoes and chilies, and cut back the beans to 2 cans (one of black beans, one black eyed peas). Also, if you don't have time to make the dressing, you can use bottled Italian dressing (even the fat free kind tastes great) I make it all the time, especially in the summer. We serve it at parties with tortilla chips, but you can eat it as a salad for a side dish or I like to wrap it up in a tortilla and top it with cheese. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States