Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are great! I left out the red pepper flakes because I didn't have any, but added some Frank's Chile and Lime sauce. I also used burrito sized tortillas and baked them in the oven instaead of in a skillet. I sprayed a pan with Pam, put the filling and cheese on half a tortilla & folded it in half (this recipe made 4 for me), sprayed the tops with Pam and baked at 350 for 10 minutes then broiled the tops until browned. Cooking in the oven helps when you want to have them all done at once instead of one at a tme. I served with homemade guacamole, sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was SO yummy. Messy but yummy. Only thing I omitted was the red pepper flake. I knew the jarred salsa I had on hand would be hot enough without adding the flake. This scaled down well for me, making two small-ish quesadillas. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Every Wednesday night, my roommate, his girlfriend, and myself take turns cooking dinner before our favorite TV Show LOST! My roommate's girlfriend is the only vegetarian, so cooking vegetarian meals has been something new for my roommate and I. Well, let me tell you, this recipe was a big hit! The quesadillas turned out crisp and delicious! Pretty much followed the recipe to T except I substituted a mexican cheese blend for the montery jack. Garnished with sour cream, salsa, Chalulu hot sauce, and the green tabasco. Fantastic! Will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought this was really yummy. I read the reviews and left the brown sugar in the recipe, maybe used a tad less than 1 Tbs. I thought it added a nice touch. I added cumin. Instead of using salsa, I used fresh chopped tomatoes that I put on top of the warm mixture in the quesadillas along with some chopped green onions. I will definately be making this again. Its a great meatless dish, but I may try it with chicken some time down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This is a quick easy dish that my family loves. I have made it twice. The only change is folding over the quesadilla to make it easier to handle. Thank you for this healthy meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Loved these! I am not a vegeterian but am trying to not eat meat one day a week. I added chopped jalapenos and a little lime juice and left out the red pepper flakes. I also just used cooking spray instead of the oil. I took the suggestion of baking in the oven for 10 min at 350 and then broiling at the end and that worked well if making multiple quesadillas at one time. Stove top works fine if you are just making one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
You truly don't miss the meat in this recipe. I was somewhat skeptical at first. For the onion I used a red onion and used only a third of it. I used half cheddar and half monterey jack cheese. Next time I'm only going to use about 1/2 T of brown sugar. Per other reviews I baked them in the oven for 10 minutes @ 350 and then broiled them for about a minute to brown the tops. Great Recipe! My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELITA27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great! The only change I made was I didn't cook in skillet but did two at a time in a 450 degree oven. I spritzed two tortillas with oil and placed those sides on the outside of the quessadilla so they would brown up and get slightly crispy. about 10 minutes and you don't have to flip over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
These are EXCELLENT and so simple to make! I omitted the olive oil and used Canola Spray instead. I also omitted the butter and used the spray. I added fresh chopped jalapeno and a little chopped cilantro. My husband went nuts over these. I paired them with a Puffy Chile Relleno Casserole and it made a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Sweet, spicy and savory! What more could you ask for? I love these. Don't let the simpleness of this meal turn you off, these make a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States