Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This very tasty recipe was super easy and fast; I think the recipe really over-estimates the preparation time (and I'm not that fast in the kitchen). I followed the recipe with the following changes: (1) given the amount of beans and corn, I felt the onion should be increased, so I doubled the amount and it wasn't oniony at all, though I sauteed them pretty well; (2) I used a chipotle chile salsa (from Trader Joe's) which added a great smoky flavor that my wife and I though was a significant improvement; (3) I tried using butter as recommended on the first quesadilla, but saw no need for it, so I just dry grilled the subsequent ones and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was really good, I had some roasted chicken that I added, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were pretty good. I was expecting a little heat and a little sweet, but I tasted more sweetness than anything else. I think the corn makes these a tad too sweet. I would have liked these much more had I subbed a spicy corn blend for canned sweet corn (my grocer is now selling three different varieties of Mexicorn, chipotle being one of them). Other than halving this and using 10 in. tortillas instead of 8 in. ones (my quesadilla maker requires the larger tortillas), I made no changes. Shredded lettuce, pico de gallo and sour cream complemented our quesadillas nicely. Mexican rice and margaritas completed our simple weeknight meal. All in all, these were decent but I need to play around with the ingredients a bit to suit my tastes. Thanks for sharing, EFasse. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It was good. A little too sweet for my son and husband's taste, but I did like it and will make again with a few adjustments to suit their tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I really liked the taste but couldn't flip when I put one tortilia on top. Tried one and folding and that was easier. Need to view the video. I think my tortilias were too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Enjoyed having this quick and easy-to-prepare meal during the weak. My king requested me to make the quesadillas again and as he ate the last bite he said, "This one's a keeper. Good job babe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseQ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Great recipe and really simple! I've been making this a lot lately. I've also made it with meat, ground beef or shredded chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
next time would add more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly except for frying it. I baked and broiled it according to the instructions from other reviewers. It was delicious and so easy! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was delicious and easy! A great weeknight meal! I added chicken and cooked on my panini maker. -Kristen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 917) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States