Black Bean and Corn Pasta with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I didn't really care for this recipe. I read all the reviews before making it and took the advice to spice it up a bit with some chilies and garlic. I didn't really like it over the pasta but we put the leftovers in tortillas, topped with a little cheese, sour cream and salsa and then it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Definitely a little bland-could use some fresh cilantro and green chiles to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Blah! This dish had no flavor! I used the leftovers (there was a lot leftover) the next day as a quesadilla filling. Even with sour cream and salsa, still pretty blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is a good recipe with alterations. People are right when they say it's a little tasteless. But that's easily fixed. First of all, I used very sweet corn. I also added a bit of cumin and served it (without pasta) in tortillas with fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes Marie Sloan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
Didnt care for this one. Dont waste your time making this. No flavor,and I followed the recipe exactly. Hot or cold it's no good. I drenched it in hot sause and still nothing. Also the recipe makes about 3 lbs of this stuff. I cant give the stuff away! BLAH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
I didn't care for this at all. No flavor. I had to add extra hot sauce and used diced tomatoes with chilies. I wouldn't recommend using shell pasta either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
A good quick and simple meal. I used a 7 oz. box of small shell pasta. I used triple the amount of pepper sauce & worchestshire added about 2 tsp. of catalina salad dressing and a sprinkle of garlic salt. Also used diced tomato with bell pepper. I think spanish style stewed tomatoes would give it more flavor. I served it with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
It was very tasty, but I think it would have worked better with a smaller type of pasta such as angel-hair or linguini. Thats what I'd use again next time I make it. I also substituted 1 15 oz can of corn since I didn't have any fresh. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This was really easy and good. No leftovers. I have made it before and wrapped it in tortillas too. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Quick and easy! I added 1 cup chopped red onion and a little garlic powder. I used angel hair pasta because that's what I had "on hand" and will definitely go with the sea shell pasta next time. My hubby LOVED this and even had "seconds"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States