Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I only subbed cumin for curry as others had, only because I discovered I was out! I also used rehydrated chick peas and black beans. This is not hard to do you only need 2 hours to make dried beans usable, much better flavor and WAY cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is a tough one to rate because it's not hummus. There's no hummus without tahini, so if I were to rate it as a hummus, I'd give it two stars. HOWEVER, as a bean dip to go with nachos or chips and salsa, it's spectacular. After I realized it wasn't made to be eaten with naan or pita, I opted for some good 'ol tortilla chips with a little salsa on the side. It's very good for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Great base for a dip & sandwich spread, although I wouln't exactly call it hummus. I liked the curry, but i'll probably skip it next time and go for more traditional hummus flavors (more garlic, lemon, cilantro, etc...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I know that chickpea hummus can be frozen. I am going to try to freeze this, as it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Excellent! I did add a bit more garlic (personal preference) and omitted the yogurt (simply for lack of it), and it came out perfectly. The curry powder is an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Made without the yogurt and subbed cayenne for the curry. Also used half lemon and half lime juice. I think it's yummy but my husband ranks it as"I'd eat it, but it's not great."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Oh my this is my new favorite bean dip/spread/hummus!! Absolutely wonderful! The only change I made was to leave out the olive oil, use less water, double the garlic and left out the curry. My daughter loved it as well and it made a great dip for a healthy evening snack with lowfat pretzels. We will try it on bread for sandwiches tomorrow. We WILL be making this one often!! Simple, inexpensive, healthy and delicious! A definite winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I started with Holly's Hummus recipe: I doubled the recipe, estimated the measurements, substituted lime for lemon juice and omitted the cilantro. I left the pimento in the green olives. Added powdered hot red pepper. It was good, even very good, but not great. So I looked at the Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus recipe and borrowed the black beans and curry powder from it. If I had grilled sweet red peppers on hand I would have added them also. I had organic yogurt on hand but didn't use it. It came out great and with 2 cans of chick peas and one can of black beans it was enough for me to bring to the girls at work for another game of "Look what I made!" I gave it 5 stars because it was exactly what I was looking for as a base to make my own. I gave the same review to Holly's Hummus recipe since they are both very similar and yet have individually important ingredients. Credit to you both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have already made this several times! I love it and it had tons of flavor for me! Make sure you add fresh garlic and add more or less of the ingredients to suit your taste! It's so easy and so delicious! My good friend said it was the best hummus she has ever had! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States