Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Good recipe. I made 2 batches, one with curry and one without (sorta had to, because what do you with half a can of chickpeas). Vastly prefer the batch without the curry. I also followed the previous reviewers advice to limit water. Perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Instead of using curry, I substituted 1 tsp of cumin. I also added more garlic and lemon for a stronger flavor. It was one of the best hummus recipes I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I wouldn't quite call this hummus, exactly, but it certainly is delicious! I skipped the curry powder and water, doubled the garlic and added a bit more lemon juice than the original recipe called for. Great with pita bread, tortilla chips, Ritz crackers or rolled up in a tortilla with veggies as a southwestern wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I enjoyed this hummus. I left out the water because I like mine thicker and added a little more garlic. Turned out really well, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We used full cans of both black beans and chickpeas so we doubled everything else. I made this for my family and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Oh my this is my new favorite bean dip/spread/hummus!! Absolutely wonderful! The only change I made was to leave out the olive oil, use less water, double the garlic and left out the curry. My daughter loved it as well and it made a great dip for a healthy evening snack with lowfat pretzels. We will try it on bread for sandwiches tomorrow. We WILL be making this one often!! Simple, inexpensive, healthy and delicious! A definite winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this last night for a late evening snack and followed it to the letter. My husband and I loved it! DH suggested it would be good as a sandwich spread when making wraps. I think I know what I'm doing with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Just made this for the first time, it is easy to make and very good. I decided to make it a little more spicy and added 4 fresh jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have already made this several times! I love it and it had tons of flavor for me! Make sure you add fresh garlic and add more or less of the ingredients to suit your taste! It's so easy and so delicious! My good friend said it was the best hummus she has ever had! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was pretty good! I used the whole can of both black beans and chickpeas, so I doubled the remaining ingredients, as another reviewer did. Instead of curry, I added a Tbs of Cumin. I also left out the water. Goes great with tortilla and pita chips, veggies, or can be used as sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States