Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I found this to be lacking in flavor a lot. I'd prefer to make regular tahini hummus over this anyday. I tried it as a spread with melted cheese and salsa though and that was an improvement...but still not worth a second go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontdoitjenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina72913
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I'm not sure about the curry powder. I used only 1/3 of the amount it called for and thought that was enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is a fantastic alternative to regular hummus. It's great with tortilla chips, any vegetables, or smeared on a tortilla with some veggies. My husband loves it and it's great for when I have that 1/2 can of black beans that I need to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rho.mox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Super tasty. Instead of curry powder, I used the harissa spice mix from Savory Spice Shop. It's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was pretty good! I used the whole can of both black beans and chickpeas, so I doubled the remaining ingredients, as another reviewer did. Instead of curry, I added a Tbs of Cumin. I also left out the water. Goes great with tortilla and pita chips, veggies, or can be used as sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Gross looking but tastey. I used cumin instead of curry powder like others recommended. I probably won't make it again, but it made for a cheap dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
So good! Was skeptical about the black beans but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a really great snack for all those crazy meat haters. The curry powder is key! Goes great with carrots or toasted pita bread, and lasts for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Yummy! Like a couple of reviewers before me, I didn't add the curry and I left out the water. I also doubled the recipe. My favorite "dipper" - cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recioe is good but I would not consider it hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States