Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was GREAT! As other reviewers suggested I subbed 1 tsp cumin for the curry powder. Super easy to make and super yummy AND healthy! I made it for a BBQ and got a lot of compliments. I love that it doesn't use tahini as that is very hard to find in my grocery stores. Will be a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
For a little sweetness try vanilla yogurt instead of plain and omit the curry powder. I certainly enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Ok, I'll admit this was fabulous, but I made a lot of changes, based on what I had in the pantry. I used a large can of black beans no garbanzo beans and substituted sour cream for the yogurt. Then, I only used a sprinkle of curry powder and added some cumin. After sitting in the fridge all night, the flavors had blended together beautifully. Yes, it's a funny color but with some pita chips it was yummy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was plain at best...simply a spin off of refried beans in my opinion. Who ever said this was "the best hummus they have ever had" has obviously never had hummus- I laughed when I read that their "Indian friend" raved over this. The only thing I could do to get this eaten was smear it on whole wheat tortillas, add cheese and sour cream- and tell my family it was bean burritos. very disappointing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I agree with some others; this isn't exactly hummus. However, I gave it a go because I really liked the idea of using blacks bean and yogurt. I found the consistency somewhat waning, and the yogurt taste distracting. I think I will try this again for sure because I love the idea of it, but I'll probably play around with the olive oil (i.e add much more and not use yogurt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Just made this for the first time, it is easy to make and very good. I decided to make it a little more spicy and added 4 fresh jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
First, I read other reviews for tips and alterations and then added my own ... I also substituted the curry for cumin - I love cumin and used 3 heaping tsps (double the recipe). I didn't have lemon juice, however I had lime juice concentrate and used 3 tbsps of that and just a splash of water. I too pumped up the amount of garlic (2 cloves) and the end result was absolutely delicious! This dip is very creamy and I wonder if I couldn't play w/ the ratio of garbanzo to black beans so that it's truer to a heartier hummus consistency. I feel like I'd like to add fresh cilantro to the mix as well! This is a great, easy, healthful recipe that's foolproof and can be customized to taste! So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turnin40EatinBetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Very Yummy!! Thanks for a great tahini-free recipe, I can't get it in my area. This is the 3rd recipe for hummus I have tried and the 3rd time's the charm! I like the flavor of the 2 beans together though the color is a little unappealing. I didn't have any curry and didn't use salt or pepper either. I also used the liquid from the chick peas instead of the water. The blender worked better than the food processor, it was much smoother than my first 2 tries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Very good! The black beans made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
i'm sorry, but hummus without tahini is not hummus. it's bean dip. that being said, this was cheap to make and reasonably tasty. i'm vegan, so i subbed a bit of almond milk for the yoghurt. nice recipe for a cheap and healthful dip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States