Black Bean and Artichoke Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I was skeptical. While I love all these flavors, I wasn't sure how they would go together. It worked out great! I used refried black beans rather than regular black beans and green onions. I also add sour cream and then after they were all folded up I grilled them on both side in a skillet sprayed with non-stick. Very good, quick and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I left out the onion (hubbie hates it) and the cheese to make it vegan. I pureed the beans and boiled them down to make it a bit pasty. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I found this recipe through an ingredient search for black beans and artichoke hearts, since I had some on hand that I wanted to use up. I made everything in one pan and added 1 t. cumin to the beans, then tossed it all, including a generous measure of the diced tomatoes and the 2 c. shredded cheese, with 2 or 3 cups of brown rice, since I didn't have tortillas handy. Served with optional hot sauce alongside raw veggies with ranch dressing. Next time I might add some chili powder. It was good, but a little bland. I would definitely not make this without the tomatoes. They add a lot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
These tasted good and were easy to make, although I used 8 8-inch burritos instead of 8 10-inch burritos and there wasn't exactly a ton of filling in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
These were tasty! I didn't use 2 pans as the recipe stated, otherwise I followed it as written. Next time I make these I'll stick the filled burritos on the George Foreman as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was just ok. I will probably finish it up but wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I never would have thought to put artichokes in a burrito, but these are great, and I've made them multiple times now. I don't bother waiting for the beans to become pasty -- I just throw them in the pan after I've sauteed the artichokes for a little while and cook them until they were warm. Per others' suggestions, I add some seasoning -- cumin, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes -- to both the artichokes and the beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
It was very different - I tried it with chicken, added some cumin, curry, pepper flakes, and the artichokes still had tang. I got nervous, but when I put the burrito together with cheese and sour cream and tomato, the creaminess really made the flavors work well together. I think I would cook the beans in chicken broth and it would help the flavor, but all in all it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I love this recipe! However I drop the garlic and the tomatoes and use a fajita seasoning on the artichokes and onions. I put salsa and cheese into the burritos and then put them on the george foreman grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was very very very good! I did make a few alterations... I left out tomatoes and added a cup of rice and some cut up chicken breast cooked in taco seasoning. I also cooked the beans and artichokes together in a pot and mashed them up. Very flavorful and easy to make. Both my fiance and I loved it! It's a wonderful starter recipe, there's lots you can add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crevoiserat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States