Black Bean and Artichoke Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
a very simple base recipe to start with, as most people seem to like their burritos a little different. good way to start the foundation of a build your own type burrito! i added cumin in the artichokes like someone suggested as well as a few dices of tomato. i also put various onions and bell pepper, chili powder and ground red pepper in the beans. we added sour cream, cheese and salsa. will definitely use again when hosting a small gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Changes: Made this for four servings instead of eight. Like others, I found the amounts a little short; more like three servings than four. I also added a bunch of cumin and a couple shots of chili powder to my pan (which contained the artichokes and the beans, making it a one-pan meal on other's suggestions). Lastly, the hearts were fresh from small artichokes I'd torn down myself since I couldn't find the canned. I'm not sure what the difference would have been, but this version was delicious and filling. I think a hit of lemon juice and maybe some of that avacado others have suggested would make it just incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very unique & delicious! Instead of cooking beans we used refried black beans and added 1/2 to 3/4 cup salsa to a 20.5 oz. can of beans. We also used a larger can of artichokes. We assembled our burritos then warm/melted them in a 350 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Add a little avacado and it's a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
yumm! I added extra garlic, cumin, chili powder and a pepper (like some one suggested). I think it would have been great with sour cream, but we didnt have any. Will make again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I didn't drain all the liquid off the beans because I realized they couldn't boil w/o it, so I left some liquid and they became the right consistency quickly. Sauteeing the artichoke hearts until browned and slightly crispy was what made this over the top for me...absolutely delicious. I also used some good salsa in place of the tomatoes...yum yum. Will make these often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I wanted to work on increasing fiber in my diet. Beans are known as a good addition to increase fiber. I was not a black bean fan until this recipe. Nice combination. I enjoyed it. Thank you. I also make extra and freeze some as a quick lunch on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. Artichokes and black beans - an unusual combination I never would have tried on my own but it was very tasty so I'm glad I did! I modified a bit - nothing personal, I just almost never follow recipes exactly. I left out the onion and tomato, because I don't like them. I used onion powder instead and liberal amounts of chili powder and paprika, just because I put them in pretty much everything. I also combined it all in one skillet (based on another review) to reduce clean up. I don't know if I was too heavy handed with the filling, but this only made four burritos for me. Maybe it's because I used "fajita" sized tortillas. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was a quick and filling dinner. The artichoke made this very tangy. Would try again with less in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker Lady
Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was okay....need alot of "doctoring"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States