Black Bean and Artichoke Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
simple, quick, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I didn't care for this. It had remarkably little flavor, which isn't something I'm prone to saying since I'm not into super spicy foods. I read the other reviews and decided to add some rice, which made for a nice texture. I tried adding sour cream and salsa and that made it better but it just tasted like sour cream and salsa -- not like beans or artichokes. It wasn't inedible or anything but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I used brown basmati rice on the bottom and mixed the bean and artichoke mixture together with a can of seasoned diced tomatoes. I used "Taco Seasoning I" from this website to give it a bit more kick. I placed shredded romain lettuce on top and left out the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I reviewed this recipe again. I did add fried cabbage and red pepper to this already good recipe...It turned out great we finished the burritos off with tomatoes and sour cream...Will make this way from now on. Thank you for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These were great. I did modify the recipe to a certain degree. I washed the beans and added a cup of water and let the cook out, once they were almost done, I added in salt, pep,garlic powder, paprika, chili powder and cumin powder to the beans. When I cooked the artichokes I also added in green onions, jalapeño pepper and a tomato to the artichoke mixture and I seasoned with some salt as well. I also made some cilantro lime rice for the burritos. To each burrito in addition to the beans, rice, and artichokes I added in salsa and cheese. These were great, a very good summer burrito with fresh flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
My husband loved these, as did my 4- and 6-year olds! I sauteed the artichokes, beans, and onions, seasoned them with paprika, cumin, and garlic powder, then added canned tomatoes. I baked the burritos at 350 for a little while to get them crisp, then served with pico de gallo and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I have been trying to go at least one meatless meal per week since food prices went through the roof. My husband was apprehensive about this, since he is a total carnivore. But when I made this meal for him, he LOVED IT. He ate some later that same night, and munched on the leftovers at lunches and late night until they were gone. These burritos won him over to meatless night, and I have been told that I need to save the recipe and make it again! He is a member of the navy, and one of his sailor friends tried these and loved them too! The only change I made to the original recipe was sprnkling just a little paprika in the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I do a lot of vegan cooking so we try new stuff all the time. Both my boyfriend and I liked this recipe, but I recommend a few changes. One: don't drain and rinse the black beans; they don't "boil" when there's no liquid in them. Learned this the hard way, d'oh! Two: They need spices, or they're a wee bit bland. I added two teaspoons of chili powder, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of cumin to the artichoke/onion mix. Three: I added a chopped red pepper in along with the onions, garlic, and artichokes. Purely my own taste. Four: I recommend grilling these or sauteeing them after you've assembled the burritos. It keeps them together much better, and gives them a little crunch (assuming you like that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was a great recipe- but required a couple modifications (albeit small ones) to make it perfect. Like others, I used one pan to save on clean up. I added the diced tomato to the pan during the last few minutes of cooking. With the diced tomato, (I used 1.5) the serving size listed here was closer to correct. I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and grilled them on the George Foreman. I then sliced avocados and placed the slices on top of each burrito, along with a squirt of lemon juice. After that, they were so great! My husband told me it was the best meal he'd had in a long time. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was easy to assemble. But I felt it lacking something. I added some shredded lettuce for a crunch. Solid though and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States