Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was an amazing recipe my family loved it! I tweaked it a little bit. I added two cans of pureed stewed tomatoes and didn't purée any beans other than that this recipe came out tasting perfect. I made some garlic bread for dipping into the soup it was fantastic! Thank you! I rate this soup 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This soup was really good and very healthy! Only changes I made were...I used no sodium vegetable broth and no sodium stewed tomatoes, just added 1 clove of garlic, pureed the 1 can of stewed tomatoes with some left over meat pasta sauce and then pureed the 1 can of black beans into that! Oh...and I only added 1 teaspoon of the chili powder because I wanted to make sure my 3 year old daughter would eat the soup! We all loved it! I garnished it with chopped cilantro, diced avocado and a little bit of light sour cream and it was delicious! You could also crunch some tortilla chips in it if you wanted to! It definitely was a great way to use up the rest of my meat pasta sauce and it flavored the soup really nice! A must try because it is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Really delicious soup! I added a teaspoon of ground coriander and a chopped up red pepper and reduced the amount of broth to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a really simple recipe that was delicious and filling. I did make a few changes based on the reviews (used half the stock suggested), my tastes (doubled the garlic, added oregano), and what ingredients I had on hand (only had one can of black beans, but I had a can of kidney beans, so I used that too). It's a really easy recipe to tweak or add more veggies too. It was picky 6 year old approved. I'll definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen McB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Just finished making this Vegi soup. i did what others suggested i added 3 cans of black beans. 1 celery stalk, 2 carrots. 1 can of green beans,and only 3 cups of chicken stock instead of veggi stock.and i used 1/2 cup ketchup to add more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My family liked it. Only added some chopped green bell pepper and used less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious! I took the advice of some other reviewers and used chicken stock instead of vegetable, frozen corn (I added a bit because I love corn), and an extra can of beans (a must if you want a really hearty soup). I also like having a little meat in my soup so I saluted a pound of ground turkey, crumbled it up and added that, too. It has a nice southwestern flavor and has just the right amount of kick. Definitely saved for the future - perfect winter soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Pretty typical soup, nothing special. Thought it would turn out a little thicker, would definitely add more veggies & a little less veggie stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Added in some potatoes and zucchini. Used tomato sauce instead of stewed tomatoes. I did not bother to blend anything. Topped my bowl with a pinch of cheddar and dollop of sour cream. Results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I found it was really bland so I made a few ajustments to it..I added franks red hot sauce(quite abit) uesd just under half can of black and kidney beans in the puree mix, and let it sit untill needed. then I through in some a green peper & yellow peper,and celery and then used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegtable oil. fried all the veggies together untill onions were Translucent. I used 2 tsp. of cumin and 3 tsp. of sea salt & fresh ground black peper. after I used chicken broth about four cups and and instead of just using black beans put in the remaining cans of organic black and kidney beans. then about 1 and a half cups of frozen corn (less sodium then canned corn) after i tampered around with the receipe it is now my favorate soup there is lots of left overs if feeding just 2 people I usually freeze the rest for lunches ;)yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States