Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
One of the best soups I've made in a while. Cooked as written, except reduced veggie broth to 3 cups as some recommended, but turned out I had to add more broth the next day when I reheated it. So, may just start out with all 4 cups the next time. I also melted some shredded cheddar cheese on top when serving, which was good, but not really that necessary, since the soup was delicious on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was extremely bland, and my spices were very fresh, not old at all, so that wasn't the problem! I added the spices a second time before reheating the leftovers, and it was still bland! Maybe some cilantro would help, but I threw the recipe out, won't make it again. I gave it two stars because it was easy to prepare and wasn't gross, just tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The entire family enjoyed this soup. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meskerem Mekonnen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family really loved this. I thought that it was missing something. Perhaps a little oregano? I served it over macaroni which was really good.I gave it 3 stars but my kids said 6 so we settled at 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was a great recipe. I used organic corn on the cob ( cut corn from the cob) & organic carrots. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this how it's written and with a few additions, both were amazing! For my additions, I added green pepper, celery, and some coriander. This soup is so good esp with a dollop of sour cream and some cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is awesome, I highly recommend this recipe. I LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was very tasty. I would add a little more garlic next time, as we love garlic. I added a dash of red pepper flakes and our homemade hot sauce to give it a little bit of a kick. Served with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese on top and with a grilled cheese on the side it was the perfect meal for a cold rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great recipe. I did however make a few minor changes the second time around. I followed some other users advice and used less stock (used 3 cups)didn't use corn but instead used celery (used 2 stalks) added more garlic (used 5 cloves) I also squeezed half a lime and added a handful of cilantro. I garnished with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I am a novice vegetarian cook and have just made this. I loved it. It is absolutely delicious, but I did have to make a few changes due to not having carrots to hand and I did have to add more cumin and chilli but I guess that's to taste. I also added celery and a red and orange pepper. I also substituted the stewed tomatoes for tinned plum tomatoes. Yes it was watery but I just turned the heat up for a few minutes at the end and it soon thickened up. Would definitely make again and would highly recommend. Well done to Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States