Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is a good wholesome soup. I did make a few changes. I had a can of the spicy black bean and a regular one. I also added a small can of chopped green chilies to the food processor mix. I think I would definitely add a little more garlic next time, but it was great as it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is so good. The recipe "as is" is kind of watery. I read some of the other top reviews for this specific recipe, and added the following in addition to what was above: 3 celery stalks (chopped) 1 tsp cumin 1 tsp of salt 1 tsp of pepper 1/2 a packet of sazon goya con azafran (just because I had it) Soooo good. If you are looking for a meatless soup, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This soup was pretty tasty and not at all difficult to make. To try to make it even easier, instead of separating the one can of bens and the tomatoes, I cooked everything together and then used my immersion blender to partially puree the soup. Next time, I would reduce the amount of broth added, as many reviewers suggest and have done. My guess is that this soup will taste even better after sitting overnight. Garnished with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, minced red and yellow peppers, and a sprinkle of chopped flat leaf parsley. Black bean soup, in my opinion, is delicious but not too beautiful, so it needs to be prettied up a bit. Served with baked whole wheat pitas sprinkled with lemon pepper and seasoned salt and a romaine salad with avocadoes, oranges and red onion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Outstanding! Full of flavor, nice mix of textures and very healthy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
One of the best soups I've made in a while. Cooked as written, except reduced veggie broth to 3 cups as some recommended, but turned out I had to add more broth the next day when I reheated it. So, may just start out with all 4 cups the next time. I also melted some shredded cheddar cheese on top when serving, which was good, but not really that necessary, since the soup was delicious on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was extremely bland, and my spices were very fresh, not old at all, so that wasn't the problem! I added the spices a second time before reheating the leftovers, and it was still bland! Maybe some cilantro would help, but I threw the recipe out, won't make it again. I gave it two stars because it was easy to prepare and wasn't gross, just tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The entire family enjoyed this soup. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meskerem Mekonnen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family really loved this. I thought that it was missing something. Perhaps a little oregano? I served it over macaroni which was really good.I gave it 3 stars but my kids said 6 so we settled at 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was a great recipe. I used organic corn on the cob ( cut corn from the cob) & organic carrots. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this how it's written and with a few additions, both were amazing! For my additions, I added green pepper, celery, and some coriander. This soup is so good esp with a dollop of sour cream and some cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States