Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I found it was really bland so I made a few ajustments to it..I added franks red hot sauce(quite abit) uesd just under half can of black and kidney beans in the puree mix, and let it sit untill needed. then I through in some a green peper & yellow peper,and celery and then used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegtable oil. fried all the veggies together untill onions were Translucent. I used 2 tsp. of cumin and 3 tsp. of sea salt & fresh ground black peper. after I used chicken broth about four cups and and instead of just using black beans put in the remaining cans of organic black and kidney beans. then about 1 and a half cups of frozen corn (less sodium then canned corn) after i tampered around with the receipe it is now my favorate soup there is lots of left overs if feeding just 2 people I usually freeze the rest for lunches ;)yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe!! I will definitely be making this again. My children even liked it, and they are not big fans of any type of beans. I added cilantro and celery to the recipe. If you don't want it too soupy, you can always cut back on the stock, but it is delicious either way. I also added a little shredded cheese blend on top of my bowl of soup, and we had cornbread with it. Simply magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is the second time I've made this soup and it is terrific! I added extra garlic and omitted the oil (I sauteed in water). I didn't have stewed tomatoes, only regular diced. I also used only 2 cups of vegetable stock as someone suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is a good wholesome soup. I did make a few changes. I had a can of the spicy black bean and a regular one. I also added a small can of chopped green chilies to the food processor mix. I think I would definitely add a little more garlic next time, but it was great as it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is so good. The recipe "as is" is kind of watery. I read some of the other top reviews for this specific recipe, and added the following in addition to what was above: 3 celery stalks (chopped) 1 tsp cumin 1 tsp of salt 1 tsp of pepper 1/2 a packet of sazon goya con azafran (just because I had it) Soooo good. If you are looking for a meatless soup, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This soup was pretty tasty and not at all difficult to make. To try to make it even easier, instead of separating the one can of bens and the tomatoes, I cooked everything together and then used my immersion blender to partially puree the soup. Next time, I would reduce the amount of broth added, as many reviewers suggest and have done. My guess is that this soup will taste even better after sitting overnight. Garnished with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, minced red and yellow peppers, and a sprinkle of chopped flat leaf parsley. Black bean soup, in my opinion, is delicious but not too beautiful, so it needs to be prettied up a bit. Served with baked whole wheat pitas sprinkled with lemon pepper and seasoned salt and a romaine salad with avocadoes, oranges and red onion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Outstanding! Full of flavor, nice mix of textures and very healthy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
One of the best soups I've made in a while. Cooked as written, except reduced veggie broth to 3 cups as some recommended, but turned out I had to add more broth the next day when I reheated it. So, may just start out with all 4 cups the next time. I also melted some shredded cheddar cheese on top when serving, which was good, but not really that necessary, since the soup was delicious on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was extremely bland, and my spices were very fresh, not old at all, so that wasn't the problem! I added the spices a second time before reheating the leftovers, and it was still bland! Maybe some cilantro would help, but I threw the recipe out, won't make it again. I gave it two stars because it was easy to prepare and wasn't gross, just tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The entire family enjoyed this soup. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meskerem Mekonnen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States