Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I tried this dish with a few tweaks and it is delicious! I upped the garlic to 4 cloves, decreased the amount of broth to 2 cups, added a can of rotel tomatoes to increase the spice factor. It did thicken after cooking. The next time, and there will be a next time, I will probably halve the corn and add some green beans or another veggie. It is great with a bit of Gouda cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I rate this between 3-4 stars. I thought it tasted best with some shredded white cheese I put on the top as a garnish. I was sort of expecting more of a chili from the picture and the spices in the recipe. It was definitely more broth like, so it is titled correctly. Only change I made was using all low-sodium products. It didn't say to drain the corn, but I did that also. I love how healthy it appears, with the beans and all of the other vegetables. The best part is, it made a quick soup, with cabinet staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I added cilantro, taco seasoning and salt. Used Italian stewed tomatoes. I also added sour cream to top it off along with some tortilla chips. Next time I may add some cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Yummy! I made it just like the recipe, other than adding celery just because I had it on hand. Sometimes serving sizes ate a little skimpy, and I wanted leftovers, so I made 1.5 (12 servings), and it made lots! Not sure why people thought it was too much broth ... the bean/tomato purée thickens it perfectly. My only negative comment would be that calling this "vegetable soup" is a little misleading ... this is much more a black bean soup, and a lovely one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This soup was great. Very easy to make, and you can add whatever vegetables you want! We took the advise of some reviewers and only used 2.5 cups of vegetable stock so it would not be as 'watery'. We added zucchini and frozen corn instead of the canned corn. Even if you are not a vegetarian, I think this would be a great recipe to add to anyone's rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
followed "Bek's" recommendations..totally except kept the corn.. perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I'm not a fan of tomato based, or vegetable soup, but I really do enjoy this one! It lacked a little spice for me, so I added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very very bland.I am not sure why this soup got such raving reviews. It was as boring as some soups out of a can. I had to add so much to wake it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela McGovern
Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it. A modification I made and that changed the soup dramatically was a bit of lemon juice. Without the lemon juice, I liked the soup, but it felt that something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I have made this SOUP several times now and it is wonderful,those who find that it should be thicker must remember that it is SOUP not STEW!!! Thanks DEEDEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 820) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States