Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very good start. Of course I did some changes to account for what I had on hand. I used a frozen bag of mescaline mix which has onions, carrots, and celery and added 3 whole cloves of garlic and then blended that with the toms. I didn't have corn so I used 3 cans of beans total. I did 2 cups of homemade bouillon but that wasn't enough liquid so I ended up adding another cup water. I used 2tea of chipolte instead of chili and it was too spicy (but still good). This was the only downfall of the soup. Next time I will cut it to 1 or less. I served it in homemade bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
pretty good i added some shredded chicken and mixed veggies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Great soup! It's a great blend of the beans, spices, corn and carrots. I had to cook the onions for longer than 5 minutes to make them soft. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the corn, so I left half the liquid. I also used 3 cups of broth. It might have thickened up more if simmered longer, but it is awesome how it is. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very good- however, the veg. broth needs to be reduced to 2 cups. I, also, added 2 stalks of celery (chopped) and 1/2 green pepper (chopped) and added another can of black beans as well as 1 cup of salsa. This made a very thick soup and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was my first time making soup and this was easy and delicious. Even my guest liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I will be scaling this recipe up next time so that I have lots to freeze. I must admit that I just had to add a teaspoon of ground cayenne pepper to the recipe. I certainly would not change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Delicious soup. I took others advice and only added 3cups of liquid. I used canned chicken stock, instead of vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Rarely do I take the time to review a recipe, but this recipe is just SO DELICIOUS! I made it exactly as written, and while it was a little watery, my husband and I enjoyed it immensely! Next time I would double the recipe, but with less liquid...I loved that you didn't need to add any additional salt! Thank you for a great meal on a rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was very good. I subsituted the vegetable oil with olive oil and added a jalapeno to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States