Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I am a novice vegetarian cook and have just made this. I loved it. It is absolutely delicious, but I did have to make a few changes due to not having carrots to hand and I did have to add more cumin and chilli but I guess that's to taste. I also added celery and a red and orange pepper. I also substituted the stewed tomatoes for tinned plum tomatoes. Yes it was watery but I just turned the heat up for a few minutes at the end and it soon thickened up. Would definitely make again and would highly recommend. Well done to Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic soup! There is so much you can do to mix it up! Very forgiving recipe, too. I ran out of chili powder so I omitted it and the cumin and used Penzey's fajita seasoning instead. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was tasty but it's like runny chili. Even with the stock reduction, I felt like I was eating soupy chili. It had lovely flavor however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Slone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I added a 1/2 can of coconut milk and my picky eaters loved it. Yippee! This recipe is also worth canning so that it can be enjoyed over a few weeks rather than a few days. My daughter brings a homemade jar of soup to work every day and she is the envy of the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe, except for reducing the vegetable broth to 2 cups, as I wanted a thicker soup. I thought the soup was bland. I added an extra teaspoon of cumin, but didn't think it improved the flavor. I will keep searching for a black bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very delicious! The only changes I made were to use 2 cloves of garlic and I didn't have canned corn so I used 1 cup of frozen corn. I served it over rice and everyone loved it. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
with just a little bit of changes, like everyone else, this recipe was perfect. I love it, this is my second time making it... I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Added celery and extra beans while reducing liquid based on other reviews. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
New favorite recipe for myself and my husband. Very healthy overall and perfect for fall and winter. I only left out the chili powder, I may add a little next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Outstanding recipe. I added 2 stalks of celery when I sautéed the onion,and upped the chili powder and cumin because we love those flavors. I did not bother to blend the beans, just added to the soup and simmered. Even better the next day, topped with a twist of lime and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States