Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Definitely a go-to recipe. Quick, nutritious and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Kids didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I am not a huge fan of vegetable-style soups, but I thought I'd try this for something different. After reading many of the reviews, I added an extra can of black beans, but kept everything else true to the original recipe. After tasting the broth, I knew it would be too spicy for my husband, so I threw in some pasta. Overall, I thought the soup was OK, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made a lot of changes to this recipe based on the other reviews and it turned out great. I used 2 cups of chicken stock instead of 4, added potatoes, parsley, cilantro and fresh lime juice. I also saved about 1/3 of the diced tomatoes instead of blending and added a fresh tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I added rice and used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. I also added a 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper and an 1/8 teaspoon paprika for a little smokey flavor. I thought it needed a little something else so I also added 1 teaspoon vinegar with 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon. It turned out great! Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This needed lots of help for my palate. Even with reveiwer suggestions. I added more chili powder, more cumin, some chili seasoning, liquid smoke, cilantro, thyme, red bell pepper. When I laddled it into the bowl, I added a spoonful of salsa and some sour cream and wah-lah! Ate it with tortilla chips and it was fantastic. Very good base recipe as submitted and one can tailor it to their taste. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent taste but on the thin side. Add an extra can of beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this tonight for the first time and it was fantastic! Like others, I changed a couple of things to suit our tastes, but the basic recipe was the same. I used petite diced tomatoes with green chiles and added some basil and thyme to give the broth a little more complexity. I did not puree the beans and tomatoes, I didn't sautee anything before I tossed it in the crock pot, I omitted the oil completely, and cooked everything on high for about 5 hours. I also adjusted the ingredients to make it right for the two of us. My husband ate FOUR bowls!! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made some changes. Used 3 kind of beans along with the black beans. Didn't purée any since I wanted it thinner !!! Used 5 cloves if garlic. It's a delicious low cal, meatless soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I pretty much followed the recipe and found it to be bland. I think if I had made some changes suggested by other reviewers it would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States