Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I changed a few things. I don't like hot and spicy so I left out the cumin and chilli powder. I didn't want the onions caramelized so I put them in the pot when I made the vegetable stock. I also added a bag of frozen Normandy blend vegetables. I made four cups of stock instead of two. I wasn't looking for a thick thick soup. Like someone else suggested I served it with warm buttered tortilla. Also I added a small can of tomato sauce as well to get more of the tomato base. Loved the recipe so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Did just as recipe was written, & it was great! I added the the corn liquid because it didn't say to drain it. Added brown rice and chalula hot sauce in my bowl, just to make it more of a "meal".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Excellent soup. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Delicious recipe. As others, I made a few small changes. I decreased amount of vegetable stock to 2.5 cups, used 2 t. cumin and 2 cloves of garlic. Very flavorful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Yesssss...I loved it...I had one similar down in FL but it got lost in my move...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rembrantartist
Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma baker
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
It was really good, however I did change it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe. I made a few changes and it was delicious. Instead of carrots I used 1 can of French style green beans. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth since that's the only thing I had on hand. I added 1 (4oz.) can of green chilis and 1 can of enchilada sauce to make it more flavorful. I did not purée the beans or tomatoes and it was just as good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
So good! And so flexible! I have skipped the tomatoes, and while not as good, it's still fine. You could add more garlic for sure, decrease beans if you wanted to, add other veggies. It's great! Love that it's partially-blended. I just used a hand-blender into the pot. Probably good with cheese on top too, with crusty bread on the side... I was just too hungry to try once I had it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Family liked it. I did the 2 c. of vege broth but also used the liquid from two of the cans of black beans. (I blended a 3rd can with a can of diced tomatoes). I doubled the cumin, also. Very good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This recipe is a great base soup. I took a lot of liberties with it. I added celery, a red bell pepper, and at least twice the garlic. Spice wise, I added coriander, basil, thyme & a bit of ginger (trust me!!). Last, and most important, sriracha and Worcestershire sauce. Seriously, best soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States