Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this how it's written and with a few additions, both were amazing! For my additions, I added green pepper, celery, and some coriander. This soup is so good esp with a dollop of sour cream and some cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is awesome, I highly recommend this recipe. I LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was very tasty. I would add a little more garlic next time, as we love garlic. I added a dash of red pepper flakes and our homemade hot sauce to give it a little bit of a kick. Served with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese on top and with a grilled cheese on the side it was the perfect meal for a cold rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great recipe. I did however make a few minor changes the second time around. I followed some other users advice and used less stock (used 3 cups)didn't use corn but instead used celery (used 2 stalks) added more garlic (used 5 cloves) I also squeezed half a lime and added a handful of cilantro. I garnished with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I am a novice vegetarian cook and have just made this. I loved it. It is absolutely delicious, but I did have to make a few changes due to not having carrots to hand and I did have to add more cumin and chilli but I guess that's to taste. I also added celery and a red and orange pepper. I also substituted the stewed tomatoes for tinned plum tomatoes. Yes it was watery but I just turned the heat up for a few minutes at the end and it soon thickened up. Would definitely make again and would highly recommend. Well done to Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic soup! There is so much you can do to mix it up! Very forgiving recipe, too. I ran out of chili powder so I omitted it and the cumin and used Penzey's fajita seasoning instead. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was tasty but it's like runny chili. Even with the stock reduction, I felt like I was eating soupy chili. It had lovely flavor however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Slone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I added a 1/2 can of coconut milk and my picky eaters loved it. Yippee! This recipe is also worth canning so that it can be enjoyed over a few weeks rather than a few days. My daughter brings a homemade jar of soup to work every day and she is the envy of the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe, except for reducing the vegetable broth to 2 cups, as I wanted a thicker soup. I thought the soup was bland. I added an extra teaspoon of cumin, but didn't think it improved the flavor. I will keep searching for a black bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very delicious! The only changes I made were to use 2 cloves of garlic and I didn't have canned corn so I used 1 cup of frozen corn. I served it over rice and everyone loved it. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 776) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States