Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe. I made a few changes and it was delicious. Instead of carrots I used 1 can of French style green beans. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth since that's the only thing I had on hand. I added 1 (4oz.) can of green chilis and 1 can of enchilada sauce to make it more flavorful. I did not purée the beans or tomatoes and it was just as good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
So good! And so flexible! I have skipped the tomatoes, and while not as good, it's still fine. You could add more garlic for sure, decrease beans if you wanted to, add other veggies. It's great! Love that it's partially-blended. I just used a hand-blender into the pot. Probably good with cheese on top too, with crusty bread on the side... I was just too hungry to try once I had it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Family liked it. I did the 2 c. of vege broth but also used the liquid from two of the cans of black beans. (I blended a 3rd can with a can of diced tomatoes). I doubled the cumin, also. Very good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This recipe is a great base soup. I took a lot of liberties with it. I added celery, a red bell pepper, and at least twice the garlic. Spice wise, I added coriander, basil, thyme & a bit of ginger (trust me!!). Last, and most important, sriracha and Worcestershire sauce. Seriously, best soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was delicious! I also added zucchini. Was great for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent soup! I had kale that needed to be used in the fridge so I chopped and added it to the onion in the pan. I love Worcestershire added to tomatoes and it was a good call in this soup. Soup should be a creative pot of leftover wonders. This recipe provides an excellent base to your creative powers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe almost , I put two cups of stock instead of 4. Other then that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was delicious but I made a few changes. I can't eat too much beans so I took out one can of the black beans. First I sautéed the onions, garlic, carrots, and spices and threw in the tomatoes. Then I added the vegetable broth and 1 can of sliced potatoes (that substituted for the extra can of beans). I boiled it until the carrots softened. Then I puréed with an immersion blender. Then added the corn and beans. I adjusted the salt and added pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Added chicken breast, cut the stock in half and added cut Roma tomatoes. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made it just as the recipe called for and it was bland. Really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States