Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Spice flavors are wonderful. Did't have corn so added 2 small diced potatoes (uncooked), and it was great. Added about 1/3 less stock than called for because we like more stew-like consistency. Maybe the starch from the potato added a little thickening as well, too. Don't know enough about cooking to tell, but will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe! After reading the reviews I changed a few things around. I didn't have carrots so didn't add them. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and only used one can. I also used a whole bulb or fresh garlic and added half a jar of salsa. We topped it with Tostitos scoops and a little shredded cheese. Will definately make this again as we usually have all he ingredients in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I added lentils to the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was awesome. Made a few changes according to what I had on hand. Instead of 2 cans black beans, I used one can white beans, 1 can black. Pureed the white beans with my tomatoes, and added an extra can of tomatoes. Used tomatoes with garlic and onion...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa-lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is awesome and that's with all the little mishaps I had. One hungry daddy and two screaming babies doesn't do me any good when trying something out for the first time. I did tablespoons instead of teaspoons so I added more beans about one more can and more vegetable stock. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Margarita Jarquin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Delicious with the advice of others. I used about three cups broth, and added cut up crookneck yellow squash because I wanted a little more vegetable. No changes other than that, and I thought it was delicious! Served with sour cream since it has a bit of zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
We really liked it! I did use beef broth because that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this soup according to the recipe, tasted, and then ended up adding an additional can of black beans and half again as much spices as originally called for. It was good and was well received by two of the three people I served it to. Thanks for sharing this recipe, DeeDee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I added 1 extra teaspoon of cumin and 1 extra can of black beans. I cooked some rice separately and added about 2 cups of cooked rice to soup. Lots of cilantro put on top before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My husband recently went vegan so I've been looking for yummy things he can have. We were both very happy with the result. I'll be making this one again! We added some kidney and Northern beans, celery, jalapenos and more garlic. It helped kick up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hainsworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States