Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Really liked it. Whole family ate it. I decreased the broth , added an extra can of beans, 2 chopped zucchini, small bag frozen corn instead of canned. I agree needed more spices, so season to taste. Also added 1/3 box ditilini pasta near the end. Was delicious. Thickened up as a leftover, and loved it even more. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I would have rated this 5 stars, only I didn't follow the recipe exactly -- but that was just because I was trying to use what I had on hand. I ended up substituting frozen mixed veggies and corn for the carrots and canned corn, and using chicken broth plus some shredded chicken instead of just vegetable broth. The biggest alteration was probably with the beans and tomatoes. I thought I had what I needed (who wants to go to the store when it's below zero outside?), but I only had one can of black beans and a 28 oz can of tomatoes. So I put half the can of beans in whole, and pureed the rest of the beans with the full 28 oz can of tomatoes. It turned out great! It was like black bean-vegetable-chicken tortilla-chili-soup. Added a little shredded colby jack cheese and some crushed tortilla chips on top, and it was delicious. The only thing missing was some sour cream. Next time I might try it with the full two cans of beans, but otherwise I'm not sure I want to risk messing with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Spice flavors are wonderful. Did't have corn so added 2 small diced potatoes (uncooked), and it was great. Added about 1/3 less stock than called for because we like more stew-like consistency. Maybe the starch from the potato added a little thickening as well, too. Don't know enough about cooking to tell, but will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe! After reading the reviews I changed a few things around. I didn't have carrots so didn't add them. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and only used one can. I also used a whole bulb or fresh garlic and added half a jar of salsa. We topped it with Tostitos scoops and a little shredded cheese. Will definately make this again as we usually have all he ingredients in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I added lentils to the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was awesome. Made a few changes according to what I had on hand. Instead of 2 cans black beans, I used one can white beans, 1 can black. Pureed the white beans with my tomatoes, and added an extra can of tomatoes. Used tomatoes with garlic and onion...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa-lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is awesome and that's with all the little mishaps I had. One hungry daddy and two screaming babies doesn't do me any good when trying something out for the first time. I did tablespoons instead of teaspoons so I added more beans about one more can and more vegetable stock. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Margarita Jarquin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Delicious with the advice of others. I used about three cups broth, and added cut up crookneck yellow squash because I wanted a little more vegetable. No changes other than that, and I thought it was delicious! Served with sour cream since it has a bit of zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
We really liked it! I did use beef broth because that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this soup according to the recipe, tasted, and then ended up adding an additional can of black beans and half again as much spices as originally called for. It was good and was well received by two of the three people I served it to. Thanks for sharing this recipe, DeeDee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States