Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I like the versatility of this recipe because you can add whatever you like to it but as it is I think it is good but not great. I added some red pepper flakes and that is what made it work for me but hey, to each its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is my favorite soup. I did use two cans of black beans but I also added a can of pinto beans (one half mashed up and the other half I left whole). I just cut up the stewed tomatoes but didn't puree them. I also used Italian stewed tomatoes. Can't wait to eat it again tomorrow. I don't have to look any further to find the best soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This recipe was very easy to follow and it came out perfectly! I get off work before my wife so it was great to be able to quickly throw together a hearty meal that is both good for us and tastes fantastic! I added spinach to ours also. Thanks again for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I don't find it watery at all! I love this recipe and have made it a couple of times. It's so easy and I follow the recipe exactly only after putting everything together, I add cayenne pepper for a bit more pizzazz! Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Czaplicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Simple and really good. My girls loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The gold standard in hardy soups. I was particularly impressed that half the beans were pureed along with the tomatoes. This set it apart from most broth based soups. A total winner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is worth making. I made a double-batch of it last night, and my family and I loved it. I mostly did the recipe as-is, but I did make some small adjustments. I did not blend the black beans, I just put them all in whole. I used a quarter less onion because it seemed like too much, and honestly I think half the onion would be better. You can definitely be heavy-handed with the spices here, or if you're good at flavouring things, add more. I kept it as is, and will probably add extra next time. I also added quinoa cooked in chicken broth and it made the soup even more filling but it would have been just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent used mexican style fire roasted frozen corn, added 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes and turkey kielbasi Delicious- everybody raved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Really liked it. Whole family ate it. I decreased the broth , added an extra can of beans, 2 chopped zucchini, small bag frozen corn instead of canned. I agree needed more spices, so season to taste. Also added 1/3 box ditilini pasta near the end. Was delicious. Thickened up as a leftover, and loved it even more. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I would have rated this 5 stars, only I didn't follow the recipe exactly -- but that was just because I was trying to use what I had on hand. I ended up substituting frozen mixed veggies and corn for the carrots and canned corn, and using chicken broth plus some shredded chicken instead of just vegetable broth. The biggest alteration was probably with the beans and tomatoes. I thought I had what I needed (who wants to go to the store when it's below zero outside?), but I only had one can of black beans and a 28 oz can of tomatoes. So I put half the can of beans in whole, and pureed the rest of the beans with the full 28 oz can of tomatoes. It turned out great! It was like black bean-vegetable-chicken tortilla-chili-soup. Added a little shredded colby jack cheese and some crushed tortilla chips on top, and it was delicious. The only thing missing was some sour cream. Next time I might try it with the full two cans of beans, but otherwise I'm not sure I want to risk messing with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States