Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it. A modification I made and that changed the soup dramatically was a bit of lemon juice. Without the lemon juice, I liked the soup, but it felt that something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I have made this SOUP several times now and it is wonderful,those who find that it should be thicker must remember that it is SOUP not STEW!!! Thanks DEEDEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belfastbiker
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Was a wee bit limited on ingredients, only used one tin of beans, and they were kidney beans. Used a tin of tomatoes instead as well. Added a spoon of turmeric for a bit more zest. Cooked for 20mins longer than recipe. 15mins before cooking finished, added an entire bok choy and romaine lettuce, both chopped. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The first time I made this soup, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful! Since then, I've made it, adding whatever vegetables I have on hand, and it has quickly become one of my family's favorites. I always make a pan of pepper cornbread to serve with it - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My husband and I love this soup. So easy. I didn't change a thing. Good everytime and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Delicious! Followed the recipe but made the following additions using some of the suggestions made by others: 2 additional cans of black beans, 1 additional carrot, 1 green pepper, 1 cup of celery, 1 pound of ground turkey and cilantro. Served the soup with salad and rolls and it made a hearty meal, filling meal. I also let the soup simmer for 30 minutes. I didn't find the soup thin at all (at least the way I made it). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe! I read all of the reviews and made some adjustments according to what we had in the pantry. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth (4 cups). I added celery, red peppers, and potatoes (all sautéed with the onion and garlic). I only had one can of black beans. I threw in some zucchini from our garden too. Per one reviewers suggestion, I added some rice at the end. It was absolutely delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Even though I added more garlic and a bit more cumin and chili and fresh cracked pepper, even a shake of hot sauce, it was still boring. I should have known it would lack flavor when there was no salt in the recipe. Since I used all low or no salt canned items, it really needed some salt to bring out flavors. That didn't help. Glad I didn't add all the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made as in and based on prior reviews added quinoa to thicken up the extra broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a great healthy dish that doesn't taste healthy. It is soooo good. We eat it once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States