Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
OMG my friends! this was a wonderful surprise! I've been speaking alot with a new friend at work who is a vegetarian and I proposed making this soup. Problem is when I finally got around to it I had no cumin! My friend is east Indian so I thought why not try yellow curry instead!? It is so wonderful!!!! I added the liquid form the corn and beans since the recipe didn't specify and I tell you this will forever be in my favorites!!! eat well my friends! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPONGEROB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Really enjoyed this. Great as is. I added 2 cups of cooked whole grain rice---delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My oh my this worked wonderfully.One day when sick I made this. The changes were: omitted corn and black pepper (didnt have any) and after dishing up we topped with grated cheddar, sour cream, lacto fermented jalepenos, lacto fermented corn relish (has cilantro,onion,red pepper in it too). What a kick!!! We ate with toasted bread n butter. Delicioso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe was great! Super yummy with some cornbread on the side. The only change I made was to use 1 can pinto beans instead of one of the black beans. I still blended the black beans but added the pinto to the soup whole. I made the sub because I only had one can of black beans in the pantry. It was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Good base recipe, but not spicy as-is. I had some trouble getting the spice up and used a lot of the suggestions here. Used more garlic, chilli, cumin, chicken broth instead of veggie, added celery, and it was coming along. Then I added a small can of rotel tomatos with green chilis, and it was at a really nice spice level for someone who likes more heat. Unfortunately it was too spicy for my 13 month old daughter at this point, as there was heat left on the tongue after swallowing. I would work on it again to find the sweet spot, perhaps half a can of the rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Amazing!!!! And even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love this recipe. I added diced celery and thinly sliced leek to my onion and carrot step. I made another change when I used one can of black beans and one can of white kidney beans - lots of fibre and a great contrast of colours in the soup. Finally, I added a half-cup or so of a blend of dry split peas, barley, and rice. Fantastic flavour and a hardy, satisfying soup. This is the secondpot I have made in a week. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I agree with other posts on this one!!! Excellent! I followed some suggestions in reducing the broth, and I added meat to make it Vegetable Beef (although it doesnt' really need meat in it... hearty just as is!) , cooked it on slow cook mode all day. The house was filled with great aroma's all day and dinner was great. Doubled up the recipie and froze some for future quick meals. Will keep in my Fall Recipie basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Jensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
So easy! I used an immersion blender to make it a one-pot meal and it was still delicious. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very good start. Of course I did some changes to account for what I had on hand. I used a frozen bag of mescaline mix which has onions, carrots, and celery and added 3 whole cloves of garlic and then blended that with the toms. I didn't have corn so I used 3 cans of beans total. I did 2 cups of homemade bouillon but that wasn't enough liquid so I ended up adding another cup water. I used 2tea of chipolte instead of chili and it was too spicy (but still good). This was the only downfall of the soup. Next time I will cut it to 1 or less. I served it in homemade bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 121-130 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States