Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The first time I made this soup, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful! Since then, I've made it, adding whatever vegetables I have on hand, and it has quickly become one of my family's favorites. I always make a pan of pepper cornbread to serve with it - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My husband and I love this soup. So easy. I didn't change a thing. Good everytime and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Delicious! Followed the recipe but made the following additions using some of the suggestions made by others: 2 additional cans of black beans, 1 additional carrot, 1 green pepper, 1 cup of celery, 1 pound of ground turkey and cilantro. Served the soup with salad and rolls and it made a hearty meal, filling meal. I also let the soup simmer for 30 minutes. I didn't find the soup thin at all (at least the way I made it). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe! I read all of the reviews and made some adjustments according to what we had in the pantry. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth (4 cups). I added celery, red peppers, and potatoes (all sautéed with the onion and garlic). I only had one can of black beans. I threw in some zucchini from our garden too. Per one reviewers suggestion, I added some rice at the end. It was absolutely delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Even though I added more garlic and a bit more cumin and chili and fresh cracked pepper, even a shake of hot sauce, it was still boring. I should have known it would lack flavor when there was no salt in the recipe. Since I used all low or no salt canned items, it really needed some salt to bring out flavors. That didn't help. Glad I didn't add all the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made as in and based on prior reviews added quinoa to thicken up the extra broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a great healthy dish that doesn't taste healthy. It is soooo good. We eat it once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Great base recipe, here are my revisions. First, added diced celery, bell pepper, extra garlic and like others, doubled up on the cumin. Used frozen corn and ended up blending only 1/2 of the tomatoes, (we like it chunky). After blending the beans it was still too watery so I added what ended up being the whole package of my dried, cooked black beans. It was probably like 3-1/2 cans of beans. Superb! Very good, we will make this often. Healthy and economical. DH loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I make this all the time and freeze it to take to work so I can have some yummy lunches and skip the cafeteria. I whatever veggies I have on hand and it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GemCourtJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was okay. A little bland and I read the reviews and followed instructions well. Reduced the stock to 2.5 ups, added 2 stalks celery, and I upped the garlic to 5 cloves and added an extra can of beans at the end. Definitely edible, but not a favorite. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States