Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made as in and based on prior reviews added quinoa to thicken up the extra broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a great healthy dish that doesn't taste healthy. It is soooo good. We eat it once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Great base recipe, here are my revisions. First, added diced celery, bell pepper, extra garlic and like others, doubled up on the cumin. Used frozen corn and ended up blending only 1/2 of the tomatoes, (we like it chunky). After blending the beans it was still too watery so I added what ended up being the whole package of my dried, cooked black beans. It was probably like 3-1/2 cans of beans. Superb! Very good, we will make this often. Healthy and economical. DH loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I make this all the time and freeze it to take to work so I can have some yummy lunches and skip the cafeteria. I whatever veggies I have on hand and it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GemCourtJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was okay. A little bland and I read the reviews and followed instructions well. Reduced the stock to 2.5 ups, added 2 stalks celery, and I upped the garlic to 5 cloves and added an extra can of beans at the end. Definitely edible, but not a favorite. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
OMG my friends! this was a wonderful surprise! I've been speaking alot with a new friend at work who is a vegetarian and I proposed making this soup. Problem is when I finally got around to it I had no cumin! My friend is east Indian so I thought why not try yellow curry instead!? It is so wonderful!!!! I added the liquid form the corn and beans since the recipe didn't specify and I tell you this will forever be in my favorites!!! eat well my friends! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPONGEROB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Really enjoyed this. Great as is. I added 2 cups of cooked whole grain rice---delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My oh my this worked wonderfully.One day when sick I made this. The changes were: omitted corn and black pepper (didnt have any) and after dishing up we topped with grated cheddar, sour cream, lacto fermented jalepenos, lacto fermented corn relish (has cilantro,onion,red pepper in it too). What a kick!!! We ate with toasted bread n butter. Delicioso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe was great! Super yummy with some cornbread on the side. The only change I made was to use 1 can pinto beans instead of one of the black beans. I still blended the black beans but added the pinto to the soup whole. I made the sub because I only had one can of black beans in the pantry. It was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Good base recipe, but not spicy as-is. I had some trouble getting the spice up and used a lot of the suggestions here. Used more garlic, chilli, cumin, chicken broth instead of veggie, added celery, and it was coming along. Then I added a small can of rotel tomatos with green chilis, and it was at a really nice spice level for someone who likes more heat. Unfortunately it was too spicy for my 13 month old daughter at this point, as there was heat left on the tongue after swallowing. I would work on it again to find the sweet spot, perhaps half a can of the rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States