Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I had just made some black beans and this recipe popped into my inbox at the perfect timing! Now, I didn't have stewed tomatoes or canned corn- so I used 3 small sweet corn on the cobs, and then I pureed two fresh tomatoes with the beans. I also added celery(didn't have green bell pepper, but that would have been really good in it too!). As for the beans- two cups pureed, and two cups in the pot. I had to add an extra two cups of broth as well for a total of 6 cups. I know some people reduced the broth, but I always add more veggies than the recipe calls for. Like, there's no way I can just put 1 clove of garlic lol or two carrots. The only thing I really did change, was I added a little bit of smoked paprika. This soup really hit the spot! And it's an easy recipe that you can really change around to your liking. Thank you DeeDee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingqueen75

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We Loved it! I added 3 cloves of garlic, n chicken broth as I had no vegetable broth on hand, otherwise did just as recipe called for. It was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This Soup was delicious and so easy to make. I used a quart of my home canned tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes. I Served it with a Kale salad and and hearty bread. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This soup is excellent! I have made it before and made it again tonight. I am vegan but the rest of my family are meat eaters, however, they loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe works well in the crock pot. After sautéing the vegetables in a saucepan (I added celery to the recipe) I put everything to the crock as listed and cooked on low for 9 hours. The flavor was delicious and the veggies were very tender but not mushy. A great soup to come home to year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
a good and flavorful, easy and basic recipe with not a lot of work. I made this twice liked it fine both times. For simple soup, I enjoyed as is...the 2nd time I wanted it basically chunky by adding Gluten Free noodles and a few pieces of chunked turkey that I had left over from another meal. When you have already have these items as a staple in your pantry and frig the cost is a faction. Great end of the month stretch your dollar budget feeding your family on a rainy day...any day! UPDATED: 10/24/14 adding a protein such as Johnsonville Butcher Shop Style Cheddar Cheese & Bacon Smoked sausage to this wonderful recipe, just adds more depth and flavor. Was super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this as is. I had two bowls with sour cream right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Cooked it as suggested for a guest who was vegetarian and it was a hit. I will make it again even when there are no vegetarians in the house. Put two dollops of natural yogurt on top just before serving and it really made the soup creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I suggest removing 1/2 - 1 cup of stock and adding an additional hot flavor element such as hot peppers. Toss in a bowl of nacho chips and even your kids will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I tried this dish with a few tweaks and it is delicious! I upped the garlic to 4 cloves, decreased the amount of broth to 2 cups, added a can of rotel tomatoes to increase the spice factor. It did thicken after cooking. The next time, and there will be a next time, I will probably halve the corn and add some green beans or another veggie. It is great with a bit of Gouda cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States