Black Bean Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
FAB! Added celery 1 extra garlic clove, doubled the chili powder & cumin. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle Anne Dudley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I thought this soup was amazing! I added zucchini. I also added cilantro (1/2 into the puree and 1/2 into the soup). I didn't have any stewed tomatoes so I used a can of diced with the green chilies in it... I started out with 2 cups of the broth, but I added more just to get to a less thick consistency. This is the kind of soup that each spoonful you are just thinking.. "this is SO good!!!" :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XenaWP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This recipe was good, but needed some adjustment. I thought it was pretty bland as written. I ended up doubling the spices and added Kosher salt to taste (I think it ended up being something like two tablespoons worth in my case). It's probably due to the stock we chose (no msg or added sweeteners), but it bears mentioning that you should really season to taste because, as written, we ended up with fancy bean water. We also chose to go with fresh chopped tomatoes and corn (two ears' worth), and simmered for about 30 minutes. The corn really came through as the star in this dish, and I highly recommend it if it's in season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Amazing soup and pretty quick to whip up. I added 2 stalks of celery and some frozen spinach. The can of stewed tomatoes I had was for 18 oz (recipe calls for 14.5 oz). Therefore I decided to increase the amount of cumin, chili powder, and black pepper to balance out the increase of stewed tomatoes and the added collard greens. P.S. The aroma this soup produces is beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I thought this soup was ok. I tried it because I'm trying to lose weight and thought this would be a good one to try. I was looking for something with more of a "beany" flavor. I added cilantro, celery and zucchini in it, as well as a little more chili powder. I think the cilantro and additional chili powder definitely helped. I think next time I would add another can of pureed beans, and maybe another can of whole beans. Served garnished with sour cream and a little cilantro sprinkled on top. That helped, too. Because of the veggies in it, I did not skimp on the salt, because I feel like that helps bring some dimension. For those wanting a soup with less of a broth-y texture, I would suggest dissolving some cornstarch in a little water and adding it to the soup when it begins to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Turned out very nice, my family thoroughly enjoyed every last spoonful. My family are really big fans of meat and no one even questioned. 17 thumbs up. The only thing I did differently was add a teaspoon of shriacha just to give it a little kick. We like to cook with low sodium and organic ingredients. Great for the heart, mind and soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
So good. So very very good! All you have to do is cut in half all ingredients and it makes portion size for 2 people with 1 lunch leftover! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Fish

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Everybody loved this soup the first time I made it! I didn't need to change anything! But,,, this is now my second time coming to this site to make this black bean soup again. I decided to add some green,red and yellow peppers. I threw in some jalapeños and also some petite diced tomatoes. For seasoning I decided to add some unsweetened cocoa because it's healthy and topped it with some sugar to taste. Regardless of my addings, as I said before, nothing is needed and this recipe was GREAT AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Delicious soup, definitely very flavorful. Read another ones review and will be using frozen bag of corn next time making it, so less sodium. I used 2 cloves garlic and 2 onions, but that was the only changes I made. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Yummy! I love southwestern-styled food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeachyKeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States