Black Bean Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Nice texture but a little bland. I'll put more chili powder in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I don't know why a lot of recipes call for 3oz of cream cheese (I always use 4oz, just easier)... anyway, I made this close as possible to the recipe. I didn't use tomatoes with chiles, but diced up some canned whole tomatoes (1/2 lg can). After the rice was cooked I cover the cream cheese with it so it would melt it. I used fresh onion (1 small) diced. I grated 1 8oz block of sharp cheese and added approx 1/2c of mozzarella to top the halves. I also blanched the pepper halves for 3 minutes in boiling water to ensure they were soft before filling them. 1 c. uncooked rice made approx. 2.5c cooked rice, so I just used the extra. With using the extra rice I made 10 halves. Without the chiles it was great for those who like mild flavor. It was beautiful and had a nice flavor that most people can tolerate (those intolerant to spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
A lot of good ingredients in this, but the cumin is so overbearing in taste it makes this an awful tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used a chipolte flavored cream cheese and frozen spinach as well as leaving off the cheese and topping with a jalapeno cream sauce. I had too much filling for the 4 peppers I needed. I'd probally use only half the rice and boost the flavor level if I made these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe! I use a can of green chilies. I add a red pepper to the filling along with lots of chopped mushrooms. Also, I sauté and add chopped onions. I found adding a little extra salt to taste kicks up the flavor. When I put in the oven I cover the pan with tin foil so the peppers get soft. Without the foil the green peppers were still quite crunchy. I love to find vegetarian alternatives to traditional recipes. This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good - didn't miss the meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
added 1 c. cottage cheese, and substituted 1/2 diced onion, sauteed in oil with a clove of garlic for the dried onion (yuk!) i also doubled the cumin. ended up with enough to stuff 4 peppers generously. i baked them for 30 minutes before topping with grated cheddar so that it would be melted and bubbly. topped with sour cream and diced avocado, it was delicious. next time i think i will bake it in tomato juice or a spicy tomato sauce to amp up the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I make this often now. It's very easy to make and tastes delicious. It's my new favorite thing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenB

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was a fresh, yummy change. I recommend using all fresh ingredients, plus adding a handful of cilantro and green onion for extra flavor. I also steamed the bell peppers first to speed up the process (it can take a long time to soften those bad boys in the oven) then just broiled the cheese on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I was excited to make this recipe and I ended up very disappointed. There was no flavor at all --very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States