Black Bean Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Was looking for a new meatless dish, so I decided to try this out. I thought it was delicious! I didn't have any spinach on hand, so I was just going to go without, but at the last minute I added a can of drained corn. I also added a teaspoon of chili pepper, as I saw another recipe that called for it. I didn't want the cheese to get crunchy on top, so I cooked them for about 20 minutes and then topped with cheese for the remaining time. I had quite a bit of extra filling, so I just put in a small casserole dish with cheese on top and baked that as well. Worked out great, as the kids didn't really want the peppers anyway. I used green peppers, but I want to try it with red next time as I think it will compliment it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Remsen, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Made this for my wife and I. We both loved it. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful - and easy to make. We'll definitely be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Nice texture but a little bland. I'll put more chili powder in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I don't know why a lot of recipes call for 3oz of cream cheese (I always use 4oz, just easier)... anyway, I made this close as possible to the recipe. I didn't use tomatoes with chiles, but diced up some canned whole tomatoes (1/2 lg can). After the rice was cooked I cover the cream cheese with it so it would melt it. I used fresh onion (1 small) diced. I grated 1 8oz block of sharp cheese and added approx 1/2c of mozzarella to top the halves. I also blanched the pepper halves for 3 minutes in boiling water to ensure they were soft before filling them. 1 c. uncooked rice made approx. 2.5c cooked rice, so I just used the extra. With using the extra rice I made 10 halves. Without the chiles it was great for those who like mild flavor. It was beautiful and had a nice flavor that most people can tolerate (those intolerant to spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
A lot of good ingredients in this, but the cumin is so overbearing in taste it makes this an awful tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used a chipolte flavored cream cheese and frozen spinach as well as leaving off the cheese and topping with a jalapeno cream sauce. I had too much filling for the 4 peppers I needed. I'd probally use only half the rice and boost the flavor level if I made these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe! I use a can of green chilies. I add a red pepper to the filling along with lots of chopped mushrooms. Also, I sauté and add chopped onions. I found adding a little extra salt to taste kicks up the flavor. When I put in the oven I cover the pan with tin foil so the peppers get soft. Without the foil the green peppers were still quite crunchy. I love to find vegetarian alternatives to traditional recipes. This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good - didn't miss the meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
added 1 c. cottage cheese, and substituted 1/2 diced onion, sauteed in oil with a clove of garlic for the dried onion (yuk!) i also doubled the cumin. ended up with enough to stuff 4 peppers generously. i baked them for 30 minutes before topping with grated cheddar so that it would be melted and bubbly. topped with sour cream and diced avocado, it was delicious. next time i think i will bake it in tomato juice or a spicy tomato sauce to amp up the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I make this often now. It's very easy to make and tastes delicious. It's my new favorite thing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenB

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States