Black Bean Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jake and Travis' Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Flavorful, easy and filling. We will be making this again. I did add 1 tsp of garlic, I used cheddar jack cheese instead of plain cheddar, plain petite diced tomatoes since the kids were eating and I also used frozen chopped spinach because that is what I had on hand. It was a nice alternative to regular stuffed peppers. My husband and 2 year old loved it and my 5 year old liked it after he got over the look of it. I used red and green peppers, I preferred the red and my son preferred the green peppers. Over all a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy C.
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
OK so first time I've rated anything on here because I usually look at other peoples ratings but this was so fantastic!!! My kids didnt like the "heat" but I used RoTel mild... they are such wimps :) Me and the hubs loved it (just the right amount) also I used Chopped spinach in its frozen form and put 2 cups of it in the microwave before to cook down to 1.5 cups... worked wonderfullly. It was great!! I didnt have any onion flakes so I used a 1/2 Tblsp of garlic powder instead and it was fabulous!!! I will totally make this agin but I may use regular diced tomatoes instead (for the kids sake). Also My hubby HATES GREEN PEPPERS but I uesed other colors and he loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Wow! These were awesome! Didn't have the tomatoes with peppers, so substituted with regular diced and threw in a can of chiles. Added garlic powder as well and used kraft habenero shred cheese to top. Awesome. Will definitely be making these again. Had some leftover filling so saved it for wraps in which I also used habenero shred cheese. Awesome! Thanks for sharing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was very good and easy to put together. I added some frozen corn for more color and 1 tsp garlic powder. For stuffed peppers I prep the pepper then quick boil to ensure pepper is soft - then stuff and bake. So I skipped the water in the pan and just baked. I used Trader Joes Brown Rice Medley - this is a kitchen staple! I prepared rice in chicken broth but you could use vegetable broth just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
made these tonight there pretty good used smaller peppers so next time need to adjust the filling accordingly and will probably use diced tomatoes instead of rotel less heat. but otherwise great for a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Nice texture but a little bland. I'll put more chili powder in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I don't know why a lot of recipes call for 3oz of cream cheese (I always use 4oz, just easier)... anyway, I made this close as possible to the recipe. I didn't use tomatoes with chiles, but diced up some canned whole tomatoes (1/2 lg can). After the rice was cooked I cover the cream cheese with it so it would melt it. I used fresh onion (1 small) diced. I grated 1 8oz block of sharp cheese and added approx 1/2c of mozzarella to top the halves. I also blanched the pepper halves for 3 minutes in boiling water to ensure they were soft before filling them. 1 c. uncooked rice made approx. 2.5c cooked rice, so I just used the extra. With using the extra rice I made 10 halves. Without the chiles it was great for those who like mild flavor. It was beautiful and had a nice flavor that most people can tolerate (those intolerant to spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
A lot of good ingredients in this, but the cumin is so overbearing in taste it makes this an awful tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used a chipolte flavored cream cheese and frozen spinach as well as leaving off the cheese and topping with a jalapeno cream sauce. I had too much filling for the 4 peppers I needed. I'd probally use only half the rice and boost the flavor level if I made these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I love this recipe! I use a can of green chilies. I add a red pepper to the filling along with lots of chopped mushrooms. Also, I sauté and add chopped onions. I found adding a little extra salt to taste kicks up the flavor. When I put in the oven I cover the pan with tin foil so the peppers get soft. Without the foil the green peppers were still quite crunchy. I love to find vegetarian alternatives to traditional recipes. This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States