Black Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
It's kind of gross looking but really delicious. A great change of pace from refried beans or hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is delicious, and adapts well to different types of beans if you are out of black beans. My blender also had a hard time with this, so I think a food processor would be a better choice, if you have one. Next time I will try doubling the cottage cheese to give it a lighter texture and lower carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Great. Easy. I added a touch of Parmesan cheese I had on hand and a little fresh lime juice. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is delicious and so easy to make. We like to use it as a burrito filling with sauted veggies, or as a dip with tortilla chips. The recipe is perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I added one extra cup of picante sauce and some shredded cheese also. It was okay, probably would pass on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve972

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I thought this was pretty good for a low fat/cal snack. I added fresh cilantro and ate it with multigrain chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNBUCHANAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Simple, healthy, and liked by the whole family! I don't use hot sauce, so I added an extra T. of salsa. I didn't have green onion, so I just omitted it. Pureed in the bowl with my immersion blender. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was very easy and good! I substituted cream cheese for the cottage cheese because I didn't have any. Then I wrapped some of the spread up in a tortilla and browned both sides in canola oil. I added some cheddar cheese and a little sour cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used one can of drained and rinsed black beans. The garlic flavor was overwhelming. I would consider making this recipe again, but next time make with only one clove of garlic and taste before deciding whether I needed the second garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
WONDERFUL just how it's written, came out a great consistency, not soupy but pureed, good on chips and plan to try it on celery or pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States