Black Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I'm shocked at how much I like this dip!! It's a bit too spicy for me so I reduced the hot sauce and noticed it tastes better chilled. I agree with the reviewer that it doesn't go well with veggies but it does taste great pita chips or tortilla chips. My husband even liked it which is a huge plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I love garlic but this just had way to much. After thinking about it, it could be the coriander. It's ok to me but my daughter won't eat it. Best when at room temp. I gave it 3 stars because I think maybe if I only used 1 garlic clove and a small one at that or maybe if it was roasted or sautéed it would have made the spread better. But, until I know I can't give it more than 3. Disappointing since every other recipe I've tried on this site has been amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow, I love this stuff. I did change the recipe because I was out of cottage cheese and used cream cheese. It has a great flavor and I have made several times cause it usually only last about a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is amazing! Very tasty! I added some leftover spinach I had from dinner and substituted Fat Free Sour Cream for the cottage cheese. Very Tasty and I will definitely be making this for the holidays to share! Too good to keep to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlrookie98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The flavor was ok, I felt like it was missing something.. I couldn't figure out what... but I didn't love the texture either. I guess I'm just used to having black beans in "bean form". My brother in law really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephieq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good; quick and easy. My can of black beans measured a tad over the 1 1/2 cups required in the recipe. I also sprinkled some fresh chopped cilantro on the top for visual appeal. You could also use parsley for the same effect. If I made this again, I would probably add some lime or lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fantastic for dip or spread with veggies and crackers, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was really good! I read the review before mine and liked the idea of using hot pepper sauce to thin it down instead of the water and then serve it with tortilla chips. Hubby preferred his room temp but I liked mine zapped in the micro with a little cheddar cheese. Don't let the appearance (real purplish) fool you for this has a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
5-star in our opinion. I preferred it room temperature to refrigerator-cold, but husband loved it both ways. I thinned this with Frank's RedHot sauce (in place of the water) to a point where it could be served with tortilla chips. Thanks for the recipe! (P.S. 1 1/2 cups beans is 1 can, and 1/2 cup cottage cheese is one of the 4 oz single serve containers, which come in packs of 4, so you can save the other 3 for other recipes because the expiration dates on the individuals is pretty far out until you open them, or you can buy exactly 1 of the cottage cheese & fruit combos, use the cheese, and eat the fruit yourself :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This dip is awesome! So low calorie/healthy and nobody even knew it. My favorite kind of recipe. I used a can of rinsed black beans, a little extra salsa and no fat cottage cheese. I also left out the coriander seed since I don't have any and I didn't miss it at all. The only thing I added was lime juice and I highly recommend doing this. It really adds a tangy flavor that's crucial to bean dip. Thanks for this amazing recipe, I'll make it often. FYI: I served this with tortilla chips, celery and carrots and everyone really enjoyed the vegetables with this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States