Black Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is wonderful on baked tortilla chips, too. This is high in fiber, so it's filling and takes the "edge" off before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is excellent! Wonderful on pita triangles, crackers, or broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very simple to make yet tastes great. Also versatile in nature. It can be used as sandwhich spread, vegetable dip or sauce for polenta etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This is a very flavorful spread. My husband and I both really liked it a lot and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very, very good. Instead of using cooked black beans, I used canned black beans; drained and rinsed. Since I used two cans, I doubled everything else. I blended it all in a food processor, my blender couldn't handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Good dip! I did change it a little bit by adding 1/2 avocado (for little creamier consistency and it is a healthy type of fat), 1-2 Tbsp lime juice, 1 Tbsp chili powder and cut the cumin to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
its a taste to aquire. Grownupliked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is such a great recipe! I am not into "spice" so I use mild salsa and just a little bit of hot sauce. This makes a great dip with tortilla chips and it's very creamy. Everyone loves the taste and likes that it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Does NOT go well with veggies. Good on pita bread, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
5-star in our opinion. I preferred it room temperature to refrigerator-cold, but husband loved it both ways. I thinned this with Frank's RedHot sauce (in place of the water) to a point where it could be served with tortilla chips. Thanks for the recipe! (P.S. 1 1/2 cups beans is 1 can, and 1/2 cup cottage cheese is one of the 4 oz single serve containers, which come in packs of 4, so you can save the other 3 for other recipes because the expiration dates on the individuals is pretty far out until you open them, or you can buy exactly 1 of the cottage cheese & fruit combos, use the cheese, and eat the fruit yourself :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States