Black Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
It's kind of gross looking but really delicious. A great change of pace from refried beans or hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is delicious, and adapts well to different types of beans if you are out of black beans. My blender also had a hard time with this, so I think a food processor would be a better choice, if you have one. Next time I will try doubling the cottage cheese to give it a lighter texture and lower carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Great. Easy. I added a touch of Parmesan cheese I had on hand and a little fresh lime juice. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is delicious and so easy to make. We like to use it as a burrito filling with sauted veggies, or as a dip with tortilla chips. The recipe is perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I added one extra cup of picante sauce and some shredded cheese also. It was okay, probably would pass on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve972

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I thought this was pretty good for a low fat/cal snack. I added fresh cilantro and ate it with multigrain chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNBUCHANAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Simple, healthy, and liked by the whole family! I don't use hot sauce, so I added an extra T. of salsa. I didn't have green onion, so I just omitted it. Pureed in the bowl with my immersion blender. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was very easy and good! I substituted cream cheese for the cottage cheese because I didn't have any. Then I wrapped some of the spread up in a tortilla and browned both sides in canola oil. I added some cheddar cheese and a little sour cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used one can of drained and rinsed black beans. The garlic flavor was overwhelming. I would consider making this recipe again, but next time make with only one clove of garlic and taste before deciding whether I needed the second garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
WONDERFUL just how it's written, came out a great consistency, not soupy but pureed, good on chips and plan to try it on celery or pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States