Black Bean Soup with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Because we like spice, I added coriander, chipolte chili pepper and chili powder...sorry, but I did not measure. I also put the crumbled bacon directly into the soup (which I did on the stovetop and did not process). All in all, even before my additions, it's a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I did change a few things but very few. First, I had dry beans on hand so I used those and instead of bacon, I used real bacon bits. I also used a can of whole kernel corn and a can of rotel tomatoes but omitted the carrots. All in all, it had a very good flavor and came together very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I thought it was okay. I think the seasonings could use some tweaking. The cumin was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Used white beans with chicken broth came out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a delicious recipe! I, too, cooked everything on the stovetop and used broth instead of the water and bouillon. I also will add more hot pepper sauce next time to give it a little more kick, but otherwise it was super yummy. Served it with a corn bread recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I know some people will be irritated with my review, since I REALLY tinkered with this recipe big time! But... here goes! -I think a lot of flavor would be lost if I nuked everything, so I did this on the stove. Taking some comments from Naples review, I picked up a poblano to add to this...and what the heck, I thought, a small sweet potato would be yummy too! I added the poblano and potato with the mirepoix/holy trinity. Once the veg cooked down, I added beef stock (canned) and tomatoes... fresh from the farmers market which I diced. With all the extra veggies and since I was halving the recipe, I only added one can of black beans (which I put in after the tomatoes simmered a bit). Here's where it may get weird: I had about 1/2 cup refried beans leftover from a different recipe and stirred them in. You'd never guess they were in there... I swear, but it made for a thicker broth. I didn't puree anything. Let me tell you how awesome this turned out! :) If you've read this far, hopefully you'll give the recipe a shot, even if you find yourself tweaking it too! It's delish! Trust me when I tell you: it's fantastically delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I am the original author of this recipe and this was created for a quick meal. When I am not in a hurry, I cook the bacon in the microwave and pour the fat into a large stockpot to saute the veggies before adding the tomatoes, drained beans and broth. If I have enough time I cook the beans from dried. After simmering for about 45 minutes, I'll partially puree the pot of soup then add a can of diced tomatoes with red pepper and a can of drained beans. After that reheats, into the bowls topped with sour cream, crumbled bacon and sometimes shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this as written except that I omitted carrots and cooked the whole thing in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I recognized this recipe as having a great start, but I also knew I’d be improvising quite a bit, adding some things to make it even more appealing to me. I particularly liked the bacon, garlic and tomato, so there was no way I was about to change that. But I wanted something more complex, with a greater depth of flavor. Also, the microwave cooking method didn’t appeal to me, so I cooked it completely on the stove-top. And I figure the time I saved by not pulsing anything in the food processor and not bothering to puree any of the soup made up for any time lost by not microwaving. So…I sautéed some diced bacon, added the directed “holy trinity” of onion, celery and carrot, the garlic, but I also added a jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced, and a chopped poblano pepper, although bell pepper would have worked fine too. (These measurements all based on the recipe scaled to 3 servings) I wanted it a little meatier, so I added some cubed ham – chopped, cooked chicken would be another fine choice. I let that simmer awhile before adding the beans, some frozen corn and a handful of chopped, fresh cilantro. I used beef stock, a little extra than called for, in order to accommodate the extra vegetables. I served this with a little plotch of sour cream and some crispy tortilla strips. I tasted this before supper for purposes of writing this review (tho’ I never taste when I cook – never have) and before you know it I had chowed down two bowls. This stuff is awesome good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is an excellent recipe and everyone who's tried it loves it. I made a few minor changes just using what I had on hand, nothing that would have had a huge impact on the end product. I made this soup without the bacon, and used ground chipotle powder and bottled crushed chili peppers instead of the hot pepper sauce. I also threw in a can of corn...it just seemed to need that. I also did the whole recipe on the stove top and skipped the fooling around with the microwave. When I make it again I will probably still skip the bacon but will try adding a few drops of liquid smoke. The soup was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States