Black Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I read the reviews - I agreed with amount of water is excessive, so I used 3 cups instead of 7 cups. I added some flavors such as chili powder, cilantro, or/and chicken/vegetable broth/cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilbretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Christmas must start with black bean soup. Why..no idea. I used chicken stock in place of water, added a couple of tomatoes and skipped the green pepper; more a case of have and have not. It's delicious and I can envision it spiced up for a different taste. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I increased the number of servings. I used 4 cans of black beans and 8 cups of chicken broth instead of so much water. Its very important to drain and rinse the canned beans. I also used a heaping tablespoon of cumin and about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It turned into a thick consistency with a deep seasoned taste. A hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
this really is a great recipe...i like my puree thick as well....therefore i only used three cups of water or vegetable broth....and if you are in the process of making it, just add more black beans....it is especially good if you leave some whole beans in there. i am the kind of person that likes to add everything to soups and substitute things...so i substituted the green pepper for about 1 cup of small sweet red peppers, and added 1 cup chopped carrots,1/2 cup of chopped celery...2 tsp. of chili powder, 1tsp. of Mrs. dash table blend a dash of garlic powder and a dash of hot sauce........try it .....it tastes great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Best base recipe for black bean soup I could find. I agree with other posters that 7 cups of water would be way too much, so I used 2 cups of vegetable broth, and threw in the liquid from the can with the beans, rather than rinsing and draining them. I skipped the green peppers, and added a 10 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles when I put in the beans and the broth. I used considerably more cumin, 4 generous shakes, 2 shakes of chili powder, a shake each of garlic powder and onion powder, and a little dried cilantro. I pureed a little over half the soup. I garnished it with a little sour cream, but it would have been equally good without it. Green onions, fresh salsa, or shredded cheese would also be good garnishes with this soup if you like to experiment. This turned out better than any black bean soup I've gotten in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I used 2 cans chicken stock in place of the water. Added additional cumin and garlic. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder and one 4 oz. can chopped chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakerton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
There are much better recipes out there; this needs a major intervention to get any kind of flavour...a ridiculous amount of water called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Im not sure how many stars to give this one "as is"? I didn't try the base recipe after reading the other reviews. I did tweak it based on what I had in the pantry and it turned out AWESOME! What I did: Use base recipe and add: 1 1/2 red bell pepper (omit green pepper), add 1 can butter beans to the 2 cans black beans, 3 cups chicken broth (omit water), 1 tsp chipotle seasoning, 1/4 tsp cumin, salt to taste. Pulsed it briefly in the blender just to break everything up, but not puree it. Added 2 1/2 cups cooked brown rice after I put it in the blender to keep the rice in tact. Served with dollop of sour cream and green onions! It was delish...5 stars! I agree that this is an excellent base recipe. Add your own spin on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This soup is amazing. I love to make it and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is way too much water for this soup. I normally read reviews before I start cooking, but didn't this time. I wish I would have! This was way too watery and too plain. I had to try to tweak it, but without much success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States