Black Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This soup is amazing. I love to make it and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I increased the number of servings. I used 4 cans of black beans and 8 cups of chicken broth instead of so much water. Its very important to drain and rinse the canned beans. I also used a heaping tablespoon of cumin and about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It turned into a thick consistency with a deep seasoned taste. A hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
fantastic, i doubled the cumin in it, wary that my 8 year old would probably hate it, and was shocked to discover he loved it. a regular in my kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is an easy and tasty recipe for a quick black bean soup. I used 6 cups of chicken broth instead of 7 cups of water, I also added a bit of cayenne pepper. Very satisfying, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty. The cumin really added a lot of flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
My whole family loved this recipe with a few minor adjustments. I pureed half the soup to thicken it, I used 2 cans of chicken broth and a 1/4 cup dry sherry, I added a canned chipotle, chopped for a smokey flavor and also added a touch of dried oregano for a flavorable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This bean soup was great! I am a 25 y/o male and not very good at cooking. I was able to follow the easy directions. I added carrots to the soup also. I also think you should season as you go I noticed my soup was weak before I simmered. So I added season intill i felt it was enough. I want to thank you for your recipe I had a great meal tonight and look forward making it again Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I loved it! It was great, putting the right amount of salt and pepper! It fast, easy and tasted great! I'm a really picky eater, this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Great base. I also used about 3 cups chicken broth and 1 cup water and sherry as recommended by another review and it was great. Topped with a little sour cream and cheese....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is an easy and savory soup. I wouldn't change it a bit except that I add 1/2 tsp of chili powder. It gives it a rich, smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States