Black Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was awful! It needs vegetable broth instead of water -- and half as much at that! More spices, particularly cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Had black bean soup at Panera for lunch one day and was craving more so I made this. Ok recipe, not rich enough or something. Might make again and tweak it with a touch of cream or ..........?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I loved it! It was great, putting the right amount of salt and pepper! It fast, easy and tasted great! I'm a really picky eater, this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This soup is way too watery. It had absolutely no flavor. It should have been made with only half the water. I would suggest using a dry chili seasoning mix instead of the cumin. You can add to your own taste. It is sold in mild, medium and hot. The soup was much too thin. Thickened up, and seasoned properly, this will be great! You can even add some cooked white rice to thicken it up. It would be more filling, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Didn't like the consistency; I'm not sure black beans are meant to be pureed. Wasn't nearly tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This bean soup was great! I am a 25 y/o male and not very good at cooking. I was able to follow the easy directions. I added carrots to the soup also. I also think you should season as you go I noticed my soup was weak before I simmered. So I added season intill i felt it was enough. I want to thank you for your recipe I had a great meal tonight and look forward making it again Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
It was a bit bland to start with. I added a bit of mexican blend cheese and crushed tostitos to liven it up. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I wish I had read the reviews prior to making this. Way too much water. It was soooo thin when I started to puree it I discarded 2 1/2 cups of liquid and it was still too thin. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
My whole family loved this recipe with a few minor adjustments. I pureed half the soup to thicken it, I used 2 cans of chicken broth and a 1/4 cup dry sherry, I added a canned chipotle, chopped for a smokey flavor and also added a touch of dried oregano for a flavorable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This soup is TOO watery for Bean Soup. Start with 2 cups of water and add as needed. Add a bit more cumin and some chili seasoning if you like a fuller flavor. I had to add rice to thicken it up. All in all, this isn't a bad recipe; you just have to make a few adjustments to suit your taste. It is easy with common ingredients which makes it a good beginner recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States