Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great recipe. I doubled the onion and tomato, and also added chorizo instead of ham. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Everyone loved this soup. I did soak the beans prior to preparing the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe. A delicious soup. At the table we added tabasco. My husband thought the soup was too salty so I might omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I loved this recipe. We omitted the salt (high blood pressure) and tomato (allergy), used water instead of chicken broth (didn't have on hand), but the finished product was super with those small changes. Have made twice and served to company along with my standard turkey noodle - this one was preferred by the adults in the party, nothing was leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lanham-Seabrook, Maryland, USA
Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent! This was brilliant for our leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
We're vegetarian and made this soup vegetarian by leaving out the ham and using vegetable broth. My husband tasted and asked, "Where'd you get the "hambone"?!" I used about 2 teaspoons of barbeque sauce and it was great! Quicker if you use a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was delicious. I substituted the ham for some spicy smoked sausage and added some garlic and WOW! I have been looking for a black bean soup recipe like this and lucked out with this one. I served it with some fresh home made bread. P.S soaking beans overnight cuts down on cooking time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimi'sCookingthyme
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I used a smoked ham bone and a little less water (too soupy). It is a very good base soup. I'll make it again. I soaked the beans for 8 hours and they were super soft after 1 hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Excellent! Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I had been looking for a really good black bean soup and I finally found it! This was just delicious. Such a great flavor. Add a little dry sherry to the soup in the bowl and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I doubled this recipe, I used 2 cups black beans and 2 cups red beans. The soup looked beautiful and my kids even liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States