Black Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
This Black Bean Soup tasted great! I had been looking for a good recipe for weeks, and the vinegar intrigued me. I also added about 1 teaspoon Tabasco, but not everyone will want to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This was very easy to make. And was quite tasty. It's a thick soup and goes great with corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I had been looking for a basic recipe for black bean soup. I first tried this recipe as written and didn't cover the pot. It took an extra hour to cook the beans. I loved the soup, as did my family. I also added tabasco. This time, I'm making it without the vinegar, to make it a basic black bean soup. It still tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
We're vegetarian and made this soup vegetarian by leaving out the ham and using vegetable broth. My husband tasted and asked, "Where'd you get the "hambone"?!" I used about 2 teaspoons of barbeque sauce and it was great! Quicker if you use a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent! This was brilliant for our leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Everyone loved this soup. I did soak the beans prior to preparing the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe. A delicious soup. At the table we added tabasco. My husband thought the soup was too salty so I might omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I had been looking for a really good black bean soup and I finally found it! This was just delicious. Such a great flavor. Add a little dry sherry to the soup in the bowl and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe was delicious. I substituted the ham for some spicy smoked sausage and added some garlic and WOW! I have been looking for a black bean soup recipe like this and lucked out with this one. I served it with some fresh home made bread. P.S soaking beans overnight cuts down on cooking time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Very good! I did reduce the amount of water and I added about a teaspoon of cocoa. And DO NOT leave out the vinegar, it gives the soup the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I simmered the beans for a really long time and they were still kind of hard... There is really no need to add any salt to this recipe, as it is salty enough. It was pretty good. But I probably won't make it again. I will stick with navy or pinto beans... They are much softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States