Black Bean, Sausage, and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was delicious! Everyone loved it. I also ate the leftovers the next day....tasted even better. The only thing I changed was instead of using allspice I added a pack of Sazon Goya since that's what I had on hand. I had some fresh parsley, basil and oregano and added some of that as well. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This recipe is really good when tweaked. I sauteed an onion and celery added cumin and Italian seasoning along with the allspice and bay leaf, Used only chicken broth, added more garlic. Cooked beans with the sweet potato. Added a tomato instead of the paste while blended some. Used Lite smoked sausage. I think the dry black beans are key, tastes much better than can. Topped this off with fresh cilantro and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Tasty soup, and I used the dry beans, which cooked up just fine. I haven't usedsweet potatoes in soup before, and really liked it. It was quite filling; my problem is getting past the color black beans turn my soups (black- go figure); I believe I will try a different color bean next time - thus the reason for only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I was skeptical at first....but so glad I tried this recipe. I used 2 cans of black beans instead of dried and reduced water to 2 cups. Threw in a few Serrano peppers too. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Good starter recipe. I didn't have chicken broth so substituted it with homemade veg. broth (7.5 cups)thus eliminating the needed for the 5 1/2 cups of water. Also, used ground pork sausage instead, sliced sausage would have been fine too. The only vegetable I added was chopped celery to add a hint of tangy celery goodness. It wasn't my goal to change this recipe but just adjusted based on what I had in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Rickert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was delicious, and my husband LOVED it! I did it my own way, though, because we wanted a "stoup" rather than a soup. First I browned the italian sausage in the pot that everything would eventually go into, then drained the fat. Instead of dry beans, I used two cans of black beans that I had in stock, drained, and sauteed them for about 20 minutes with the garlic, broth and spices in a different pot. Only used about 2 cups of water since 5 1/2 wasn't needed. I pureed the entire pot of beans, liquid, and spices and it created a thicker soup. After steaming the sweet potatoes, I added them into the pot with the sausage, puree mixture and worcestershire and 1 cup of chicken broth, and let it all simmer for about 15-20 minutes. Garnished with scallions. DELICIOUS, and so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
First off, hats off to the chef! This soup hits the spot. I made a few adjustments to cater to the flavors that my family is use to and to simplify. I sauteed a med. white onion in 1Tbsp EVOO then added garlic and 1/2llb keilbasa diced. I then added cumin, oregano and red pepper flakes. Next I added 2 cans of black beans and 3 cans of water, 2 chicken boulion cubes, 1/2 cup fresh cilantro and the sweet potato. Last but not least I diced fresh tomato and scallions and added those as garnish allong with a little mozzarella.Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I have made this for my family at least 30 times, we love it so much. We use trader joe's spicy chicken italian sausage to give it a little kick. Love, love love the flavor - I think cooking the beans from scratch in the bay leaf and garlic gives it flavor and steaming the sweet potatoes before adding to the soup, as the recipe suggests, keeps them from getting too soft and mushy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smacleod
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This soup is delicious! I omitted the sausage and honestly didn't miss it. The sweet potatoes are good because they're not too sweet, and they're a great alternative to white potatoes. I recently made this soup to take with me on the road. It travels great and lasts, especially if you put it over rice or grains. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We've made this soup many times and it's a hit with my family (including a picky husband and a three year old) every time. We've even served it to company and received rave reviews. The only change we make is to use smoked kielbasa instead of Italian sausage. It's scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States