Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Oh Yes this was a great rescipe!!! I used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of black eyed peas. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Excellent - thanks so much for sharing! I've been looking for a guilt free black bean/corn salsa that rivals the one I get at Trader Joe's (their's has fat though). I admit there was something missing and per usual I tweek these recipes and end up with new favorites. Anyway, I realized it was vinegar, but I didn't know what kind to use. My roommate suggested cider vinegar and that did the trick perfectly! I didn't even bother with the fresh tomato because the Rotel was fine for me. We munched on this before dinner with baked corn chips. Homemade pita chips would probably be fine too. We ate so much I had to make another batch. The second batch I used the Rotel with lime and cilantro and added chilis separtely. Impossible to screw up! I too used the cilantro inside instead of as a garnish. Also added a dash of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Very delicious and healthy recipe. I used Rotel w/green chiles to give it a little spice and chopped up one bunch of cilantro instead of using it as a garnish. Next time I will add an extra can of Rotel to balance out the tomatos and beans. Excellent salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Rebeckah -- what a recipe! -- what a hit! It was extremely tasty and filling! I added extra cilantro and black beans and processed part of the mix in the food processor so it wasn't as 'crunchy' as the original recipe required. Thanks so much for sharing -- this is definately a "do-over"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
It is awesome, easy to make and not too spicy! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is delicious and easy. My husband and I both loved snacking on it and even my 2 year old enjoyed it. We used a can of black-eyed peas for one of the black beans. I omitted the cilantro since I didn't have any and I think it was fine, but hopefully next time I'll have it! This made a healthy snack with plenty to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Great with tortilla chips. Also great warmed with cheese in tortilla! Even my husband, who is NOT a fan of black beans, loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
THIS WAS SO EASY TO MAKE AND SO DELICIOUS. I ADDED SOME RED ONION ALONG WITH THE GREEN ONIONS AND THE JUICE FROM ONE LIME. IT WAS GREAT SERVED WITH LIME FLAVORED CHIPS. MY HUSBAND LOOKED AT IT FUNNY, TASTED IT, THEN REPLIED, "THIS REALLY IS GOOD!!!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
My family all loved this salsa! Since tomatoes aren't in season, I used 2 cans of finely chopped tomatoes along with the rotel...turned out perfect! I'd love to can this in small jars, tie a ribbon around the lid and give as gifts next Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKYNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States